Laptop Broke! =( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2006, 07:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Unhappy Laptop Broke! =(

Well... Last night i was on my laptop just talking on msn i then turned my laptop off.. like usual. Now i try and start it up it comes up with a screen giving options start in safe mode etc and none of them work it shows the loading bar for windows then the screen goes black and stays that way. I have tried installing windows again and the installation always stops at the same point. Any help would be appreciated.

Richard
__________________

Ric2k6 is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 07:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

hard drive sounds screwed... get some other opinions though...
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 08:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Did you create new partitions and format the drive?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 08:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default

well its when i press enter to install windows.. the bar at the bottom comes up looking for previous versions of windows or something like that then doesnt change.
Ric2k6 is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 01:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ric2k6
well its when i press enter to install windows.. the bar at the bottom comes up looking for previous versions of windows or something like that then doesnt change.
I suggest doing a search for Drive fitness test. it is a harddrive scanner that you can burn to cd and boot off of it. I bet your harddrive is messed up. at the point in install you are speaking of is when windows is analyzing your drive .
networkgeek is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 06:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Were would i actually get that from.. and would it help with the problem or just tell me its screwed up?
Ric2k6 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 08:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/support/download.htm


look for CD image
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 08:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

dude hook that hard drive up to a desktop with the desktop hard drive in and go to command prompt in start menu type in Chkdsk D: or whatever the laptop drive is and check for viruses cause my aunts computer did that and i ran a virus scanner and ran chkdsk and she is having no problems at all.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.