Keyboard Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2006, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Post Keyboard Question

Hello Folks, I was working on my mom's PC over the weekend as her current PS2 keyboard had failed. I replaced the keyboard with the USB Keyboard below:

I still get the keyboard error message on DOS type start-up screen. Also, since the PC does not recognize the Keyboard, I have to wait 30 for the system to auto-default to Windows XP home and the computer continues booting. Once in Windows the PC then recognized the Keyboard without any problems. The PC Is a Dell Desktop. The PC is fairly new. I would say 3 years or less.

My question is, should I go into the BIOS to configure the keyboard as USB so the system is not looking for a PS2 keyboard? Any general pointers are helpful. I am not at the PC right now and I just thought about the BIOS angle. I also understand the Windows recognizes devices a bit differently than the BIOS.

Last question on a different issue. I also bought an all-in-one HP Scanner, printer and copier unit. I bought a USB ver2 cable with the HP. My mum's PC must have a ver1 USB card installed. I tried installing the software that came with the HP and the software recognized that the USB card I have in the PC Is ver1 and told me that the HP would work but at slower speed. Is that correct?

Thanks, Bill

bpatters69 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K

get a universal adapter that switches from a usb to a ps2

P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 03:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51

Often times, at least in the Phoenix CMOS setup, there is an option to enable USB keyboard. If you are comfortable, explore in there.
I think if Dell had a PS/2 keyboard with the computer then they had no reason to set USB.
Give that a shot.
M3Cosmos is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan

Originally posted by sylwek
get a universal adapter that switches from a usb to a ps2
In case you were wondering how that looks like.

SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 03:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29

Excellent. Thanks for all of the ideas.
bpatters69 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.