Just built my PC, nothing coming up on the screen? - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2010, 12:15 PM   #51 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Just built my PC, nothing coming up on the screen?

Yup, you hbave a 4200 onboard gpu.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 06:00 PM   #52 (permalink)
Troll Patrol
 
JoshuaJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Over the Rainbow
Posts: 295
Default Re: Just built my PC, nothing coming up on the screen?

Is it possible that trying to boot the build with the old PSU damaged new parts? It was on for maybe a half hour total, but we turned it on and off a bunch as we were trying to trouble shoot different things like RAM, Jumper, Connections.

I just want to be prepared if the new PSU comes in but now the new Mobo/Cpu are damaged... Hope not though.
__________________

__________________
'Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.' - Plato
Please REP me if I help you!
JoshuaJay is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 07:35 PM   #53 (permalink)
 
FoxMcCarther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rockford, MI / Harrisonburg, VA
Posts: 186
Default Re: Just built my PC, nothing coming up on the screen?

I skimmed all the other reply's as I am late coming to this, so some of this will be repetition, and from what I have read, agree it is probably the MOBO. Anyway, yes, it is possible to damage the PSU by frequently (semi-rapidly) starting and stoping the PSU (I actually fried my first one this way). Also, I am a bit confused on where you guys are right now, but I will try to jump in by covering all the basics.

You mention the keyboard and mouse don't light up, are they USB? If so, I think it may actually be your Motherboard, as the USB are powered ports and they should be getting power.

I had this problem with my first build, however unfortunately I can't remember what was wrong or what I did to resolve it. Do you have an old computer you could hook the monitor up too? If you do that could be a quick resolution for troubleshooting in the way of monitors.

Same goes for the Power Supply, do you have an old computer you can hook it up to?

If that does not work...

Here are a few simple things you can try now.

While I doubt this will resolve this particular problem, try starting the system with only 1 stick of ram in slot 1. If that does not work, try the other stick in the same slot, if it works, one of the sticks of ram is bad, if they both work, than both sticks are good and you should start the system, install the OS, then add in the second stick.

If that step fails continue on

Try taking the graphics card out of the equation. Remove it from the system and just try starting it with the on-board graphics. (If it works that would limit the problems to either the power supply in the way of a bad cable / connections or the graphics card, meaning the card is bad.)

If that fails it is most likely the motherboard or the processor (most likely the motherboard)


If none of those easy fixes work, follow the flow charts below.
If you prefer, you can follow these flow charts found at this site, let me know what your resolution (or lack there of) is.

Guide to Computer Troubleshooting and Repair - PC Troubleshooting Manual

Start with the one on the top right labeled "Video Failure" if that is still your problem, if not start with "PSU" (First one)
FoxMcCarther is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 08:02 PM   #54 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Just built my PC, nothing coming up on the screen?

Yha, you missed fox his psu, while a decent psu, is 6 yrs old, and only a 20 pin, Not a 24 pin.

Most likely, he isn't getting enough power because of it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 08:04 PM   #55 (permalink)
 
FoxMcCarther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rockford, MI / Harrisonburg, VA
Posts: 186
Default Re: Just built my PC, nothing coming up on the screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Yha, you missed fox his psu, while a decent psu, is 6 yrs old, and only a 20 pin, Not a 24 pin.

Most likely, he isn't getting enough power because of it.
If that is the case, I am 99% sure that is his problem, ran into a similar situation trying to build my server out of scrap parts.

Disregard everything in the last post then ^_^ Thanks for the update.
FoxMcCarther is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 08:06 PM   #56 (permalink)
Troll Patrol
 
JoshuaJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Over the Rainbow
Posts: 295
Default Re: Just built my PC, nothing coming up on the screen?

Fox, thanks a lot for all that info.

I could be completely wrong, but I'm inclined to think it's not the Mobo.

Before I rebuilt the system, I was having the same problem, only I assumed the GPU had gone out because I couldn't get a display. The ONLY part from the old build left in the system is the PSU. And the old Mobo/CPU were working just fine before I took them out.

So I doubt it's the Mobo if the old one worked and the new one is fresh out the box and having the same issue, feel me?

I was not asking if it would damage the PSU , I was asking if using a DAMAGED PSU can hurt other brand new parts, as all the other parts are brand new.

The keyboard does light up, but only if you push the LOCK buttons. Usually, when the system boots, the LOCK lights will flash on their own. So it is getting power.

I also tried every RAM combo there was, nothing worked.

Really inclined to think it's the old PSU man... But hey, if I'm wrong I just have to return the Mobo/CPU for a replacement, as they are brand new and have no physical damage.
__________________
'Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.' - Plato
Please REP me if I help you!
JoshuaJay is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 08:44 PM   #57 (permalink)
 
FoxMcCarther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rockford, MI / Harrisonburg, VA
Posts: 186
Default Re: Just built my PC, nothing coming up on the screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshuaJay View Post
Fox, thanks a lot for all that info.

I could be completely wrong, but I'm inclined to think it's not the Mobo.

Before I rebuilt the system, I was having the same problem, only I assumed the GPU had gone out because I couldn't get a display. The ONLY part from the old build left in the system is the PSU. And the old Mobo/CPU were working just fine before I took them out.

So I doubt it's the Mobo if the old one worked and the new one is fresh out the box and having the same issue, feel me?

I was not asking if it would damage the PSU , I was asking if using a DAMAGED PSU can hurt other brand new parts, as all the other parts are brand new.

The keyboard does light up, but only if you push the LOCK buttons. Usually, when the system boots, the LOCK lights will flash on their own. So it is getting power.

I also tried every RAM combo there was, nothing worked.

Really inclined to think it's the old PSU man... But hey, if I'm wrong I just have to return the Mobo/CPU for a replacement, as they are brand new and have no physical damage.
You are correct in believing the PSU, I was just corrected (Perhaps you missed it?) with an update what was going on and I too feel it is in all likelihood the Power Supply. Also, depending on what is wrong with the power supply, a damaged unit could potentially be damaging to new system components.
FoxMcCarther is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 09:01 PM   #58 (permalink)
Troll Patrol
 
JoshuaJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Over the Rainbow
Posts: 295
Default Re: Just built my PC, nothing coming up on the screen?

Yeah if you saw my edit I wrote all that before seeing your replies

I'm hoping it didn't damage the Mobo, CPU, if it did though, I'll just return it for a replacement. As long as it's not physically damaged it should be fine to get an RMA.

Like I said I only had everything spinning for a half hour max so let's hope it's okay
__________________

__________________
'Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.' - Plato
Please REP me if I help you!
JoshuaJay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PicPick Screen Capture Software Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-24-2009 01:34 PM
Another Dual Screen Laptop Coming Osiris New Technology and Products 7 10-12-2009 04:13 PM
Monitor Only Displays White Screen darkop16 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-24-2008 11:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.