AN issue with hard drive imaging - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2009, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36
Default AN issue with hard drive imaging

Hi guys, thanx for reading and responding ahead of time

I am a new tech geek, so my skills are at white belt right now...

anyways...I am wondering if there is a program where you can copy what you have on one laptop hard drive, into an image, which you can then copy onto the new drive, and have it run like you did with the old drive, but without having to reinstall everything
__________________

changsterdj is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Asylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 138
Default Re: AN issue with hard drive imaging

Acronis True Image
It the best harddisc copy software out there today.
Just copy to the new drive..Unplug old drive...Boot up new drive.
__________________

__________________
Processor: Core i7 920 4.2Ghz 24/7
Motherboard: EVGA X58 758 SLI
Cooling: Water cooling
Memory: 2x3Gig Kingston Hyper X 2100Mhz
Video Card: XFX GTX285
Harddisk: 2-Seagate Barracuda 250GB in RAID 0
Case: APEVIA X-JUPITER G-Type X
PSU: Corsair 1000 Watt Modular
Asylum is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 02:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: AN issue with hard drive imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asylum View Post
Acronis True Image
It the best harddisc copy software out there today.
Just copy to the new drive..Unplug old drive...Boot up new drive.
cool, so with this software, I do not need to reinstall all my programs & re-register everything?
changsterdj is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 02:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: AN issue with hard drive imaging

Nope, it will make an exact image (every 1 and 0) of you hard drive.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: AN issue with hard drive imaging

so with this image, I can not restore all my defaults of installed programs & files?
changsterdj is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 09:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: AN issue with hard drive imaging

It will restore everything from the time you made the image. If you had installed or changed anything after you made the image that information will not be present and you will have to redo that aspect.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-20-2009, 03:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: AN issue with hard drive imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
It will restore everything from the time you made the image. If you had installed or changed anything after you made the image that information will not be present and you will have to redo that aspect.
so I have made the image

I put it onto an external hard drive...

now how do I put this onto a new blank drive?

(I am using acronis)
changsterdj is offline  
Old 08-20-2009, 11:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: AN issue with hard drive imaging

Do a recovery instead of a backup. Select the external > image as the source and the new/blank drive as the destination. If you do this from the recovery CD then I don't think an external will work, but if you do it from Windows then it should.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-21-2009, 05:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: AN issue with hard drive imaging

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
Do a recovery instead of a backup. Select the external > image as the source and the new/blank drive as the destination. If you do this from the recovery CD then I don't think an external will work, but if you do it from Windows then it should.
thanx man, i will give it a try
__________________

changsterdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building new Computer - is my new Hard Drive bad? King$nake Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 01-15-2009 12:13 PM
Move Steam To Another Hard Drive Osiris PC Gaming 0 12-28-2008 11:28 AM
Crysis 1.2 patch dario03 PC Gaming 34 08-29-2008 02:42 AM
Hard Drive and Motherboard Issue Ithryndil System Upgrades 7 09-27-2007 06:56 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.