internet.... grr... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2008, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default internet.... grr...

ok i just got my cable internet hooked back up.. it works fine as long as its hooked directly to a pc, but when i hook up my router and try to install it, it says the router cant find the internet... even though i reset everything when i did it... any ideas?
__________________

__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: internet.... grr...

You have to go into the router to change the settings.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 09:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default Re: internet.... grr...

i shouldnt have to change any of the settings, i'm reinstalling the router like new... but at the end of the installation it says it cannot connect to the internet..
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: internet.... grr...

And you already hit the reset button.....
Ste is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 09:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: internet.... grr...

Is it possible your ISP somehow prevents their signal from being routed?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default Re: internet.... grr...

nvm i got it working guys... idk what happened but it finally just clicked.. idk lol thanks for your advice!
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default Re: internet.... grr...

ok nvm its not fixed.... now it works through the router but will go out at random times and i have to reset the router by holding the reset button for 15 seconds.. then reinstall it for it to work... and i've even changed routers and its doing the same thing.. any ideas?
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: internet.... grr...

Unhook the router and try through modem, if problem persists modem is at fault, if problem goes away your looking to update the firmware on your router first. If that doesn't work, contact your ISP and ask them if they have any "Special settings" you need to enter for routers.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The end of net neutrality = bad kfc469 Off Topic Discussion 34 08-27-2009 08:03 AM
Laptop's Internet not connecting with any programs rvardell HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 01-13-2008 11:35 AM
A little bit about MPLS Tierzero Off Topic Discussion 0 09-13-2007 03:04 PM
Help with internet connection sharing!! philbar71 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 08-06-2007 05:05 PM
Hijack This Log Sobriquet. HijackThis Logs (finished) 25 04-27-2007 02:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.