Internet connection issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2013, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default Internet connection issues

Hello all I hope you guys can help.

I have the motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

The issue is that I bought an PCI wireless card and when I try to find wireless connections I barely get any options. I grabbed my pc and put it right next to the router and I could find the connection but it only gave me 3 bars.

Next I tried another wireless device but this time through usb. This one would find the wireless connection but only for moments, and it also would display barely any connections.

I live in an apartment with 10 apartments per floor, so instead of just one or two there should be 20 or more!

I tried to connect directly with the cable and it never took. Anyone know what I could or what it may be?

I bought the motherboard in the US and I live in Chile. I hope it isn't that

Thanks!
__________________

fernandosaez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Internet connection issues

I've never heard of anyone using a US (intended) motherboard with a foreign power supply. I can't even imagine the problems that might cause.

But both of your problems sound like a lack of power to the required components. Can you go into your BIOS and check the voltages of the power supply to make sure they're at the levels they should be?

Wireless antenna requires power to work. Too little power and the antenna works less efficiently (ie-Barely picking up signals that are right next to it, and not picking up signals that are far away at all.)
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 06:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MalignantBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Internet connection issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yevrag35 View Post
I've never heard of anyone using a US (intended) motherboard with a foreign power supply. I can't even imagine the problems that might cause.
ya agreed!
MalignantBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 01:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Internet connection issues

All motherboards world-wide for the most part follow the typical standards... Just because a board was intended for sale in the states doesn't mean that it's some special thing that the rest of the world can't use. I once had a motherboard from newegg that was intended for sale in france, only difference was the first language in the manual, everything else for the most part was the exact same (some silk-screened writing on the motherboard was french instead of english).

But, what would help is if OP listed all the specs of his machine, including the OS.

PSU/CPU/RAM/Network cards used/Operating system...
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Internet connection issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yevrag35 View Post
I've never heard of anyone using a US (intended) motherboard with a foreign power supply. I can't even imagine the problems that might cause.

But both of your problems sound like a lack of power to the required components
In today's world, MOST modern power supplies will automatically switch between 240v and 120v, 60hz and 50hz. If not, you can switch them with a small slider switch that's usually on the back of the psu. After all, it wouldn't make sense for big companies like corsair, rosewill, Antec... to only make a power supply that would work on 120v. 120 volts is like the non metric system, inefficient, out of date, and almost exclusively used in america! :P


to me, this sound like a Classic Networking issue. I need to know the EXACT model of your wireless router and your PCI + USB Networking adapters.

99% of the time, when these issues pop up its going to be caused by conflicting wireless standards and out of date protocols. For example Type B/G/N/AC Speed standards, countless security protocols, 5Ghz vs 2.4ghz.

Let us know and we can help further.

-Murphy
__________________
TOSHIBA Qosmio Lappy - i7 4700MQ 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - GTX770 - 2X 500gb 7200rpm hard drives + 120GB Corsair ssd

Im obsessed with my Samsung(s) My Galaxy S4 and my Tab 3 8.0
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Internet connection issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
But, what would help is if OP listed all the specs of his machine, including the OS.

PSU/CPU/RAM/Network cards used/Operating system...
1+

This would also be very helpful!
__________________
TOSHIBA Qosmio Lappy - i7 4700MQ 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - GTX770 - 2X 500gb 7200rpm hard drives + 120GB Corsair ssd

Im obsessed with my Samsung(s) My Galaxy S4 and my Tab 3 8.0
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default Re: Internet connection issues

I certainly don't think this is an electric power issue at all.

it is most likely that either the PC is in a bad location for detecting wifi signals or the router is not providing a good signal

Try changing the wireless channel on the router and see if you can set it to be N, and set a Static IP on the PC
Frosty is a Snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Internet connection issues

Thank you so much for your help.

I also doubt it's the power supply since I game with the computer and I don't even see a hick up.

I entered the bios but could not figure out what I could change to help. I'm not an expert to be honest.

Here are the details of my pc starting with the network devises. The weirdest thing is why did it not connect when I connected the computer directly?


Connections that I tried. The PCI is the one I want to work. It is brand new.

PCI: D-link DWA-547 Rangebooster N650 Desktop Adapter

USB: D-Link DWL-G1222 H.W Ver: C1

Windows 7

1 x OCZ ZS Series 750W 80PLUS Bronze High Performance Power Supply compatible with Intel Sandy Bridge Core i3 i5 i7 ...

1 x AMD FX-8150 Zambezi 3.6GHz (3.9GHz/4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor with Liquid Cooling ...

1 x EVGA 012-P3-2078-KR GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 448 Cores (Fermi) Classified Ultra 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 ...

1 x GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

1 x G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-

1 x Intel 330 Series SSDSC2CT240A3K5 2.5" 240GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

I also have an old hardrive from a laptop, I connected this before the issue started so I'm sure it isn't causing it.

THANK YOU ALL!
fernandosaez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Internet connection issues

What brand/model router? Also, it is possible there is too many 2.4Ghz devices trying to talk in the same area as your devices are, you may have to change what channel your router is broadcasting on to get a half-decent signal.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Internet connection issues

If its an apartment, could it not be worth just getting a cable to run it over to your room? wifi is garbage on a gaming computer
__________________

__________________
TOSHIBA Qosmio Lappy - i7 4700MQ 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - GTX770 - 2X 500gb 7200rpm hard drives + 120GB Corsair ssd

Im obsessed with my Samsung(s) My Galaxy S4 and my Tab 3 8.0
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.