How to find a switch's IP address? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2014, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default How to find a switch's IP address?

Hello
How do I find out a switch's IP address? My co-worker hooked up a brand new laptop to a switch that was a stand alone switch and not hooked to the LAN. He did a DOS command and found the switch's IP address, and then used that info to make the laptop the next corresponding ip address number. he then used the laptop to ping the switch. but how did he do this? what dos command did he use?
__________________

guam96913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: How to find a switch's IP address?

"ipconfig" most likely I'd assume.

Possibly using the /all switch as well.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 06:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: How to find a switch's IP address?

Hi there,

What make and model, and type of switch is it? Is it a Layer 2 or Layer 3, managed or unmanaged switch?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 02:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: How to find a switch's IP address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by guam96913 View Post
Hello
How do I find out a switch's IP address? My co-worker hooked up a brand new laptop to a switch that was a stand alone switch and not hooked to the LAN. He did a DOS command and found the switch's IP address, and then used that info to make the laptop the next corresponding ip address number. he then used the laptop to ping the switch. but how did he do this? what dos command did he use?
Read please:
Need to find out IP Address of switch

If the switch is standalone and not hook up to the internet.
You won't be able to pull a ip address until dhcp assigns it one.
Carnage post will be on spot when you do connect and it shows a ip address from ipconfig/all.
Be sure to test ping it to make sure your data packets are going through smoothly.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: How to find a switch's IP address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post
Read please:
Need to find out IP Address of switch

If the switch is standalone and not hook up to the internet.
You won't be able to pull a ip address until dhcp assigns it one.
Carnage post will be on spot when you do connect and it shows a ip address from ipconfig/all.
Be sure to test ping it to make sure your data packets are going through smoothly.
Doesn't need to be hooked up to the internet to be assigned an IP address. DHCP is managed by the switch itself or router. Just a network in general. Figured I would post that distinction for the OP.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: How to find a switch's IP address?

If it's a simple hub or switch it will need a layer 3 for that DHCP assignment. If he does ipconfig while simply hooked up without assigning his own IP address then all he'll get is the 169 number. Pretty sure he just wanted to know how to get the gateway or "switch" address anyways.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 04:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: How to find a switch's IP address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Doesn't need to be hooked up to the internet to be assigned an IP address. DHCP is managed by the switch itself or router. Just a network in general. Figured I would post that distinction for the OP.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Hi. This is assuming that the particular network switch which guam96913's co-worker is using (standalone and only a laptop connect to it) has built-in DHCP server capability. This will typically be found on a layer 3 network switch / core switch, and network routers.

Otherwise, if it is only a layer 1 or layer 2 switch / edge switch with no DHCP capability, then the switch will not have an IP address as it is not possible to assign one to this type of switch, nor will the switch have the ability to assign IP addresses to nodes connected to it. An exception to this will be if the switch is a managed switch permitting the assignment of an IP address to the switch for management access only.

To be sure, we would need to know the make and model of the network switch in question.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 11:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 405
Default Re: How to find a switch's IP address?

Pretty much the only reliable way to see the IP configuration of a managed switch is to directly console into it. The thing with ipconfig is that it will show you the default gateway, but that IP might not even be on the switch that the machine is connected to.
DistraughtSysop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 12:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: How to find a switch's IP address?

I'm going to assume the switch in question was a regular consumer router.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ip address, switch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 3Com 24-switch necessary or typical switch will do? classicalboy Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 07-13-2010 02:00 PM
Problem recognizing my IP address as a USA Ip address sowrongitsdano Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 02-20-2009 05:08 PM
new build cant find where power switch plugs into the Mobo? nastsystems System Upgrades 17 03-16-2008 06:33 PM
Help me find a switch Sprooty Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 01-26-2006 05:49 PM
how can I find out my switch's IP address? muradtalukdar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 05-19-2003 01:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.