Help Please You Smart People - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2006, 08:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 75
Default Help Please You Smart People

Its been a while since I posted (Preety much a year I belive)

I got 2 questions so here it goes

The first one is I bought a computer that has a intergrated 200 Xpress PCI-E GFX card on the site it says I can add another card with it.http://www.ati.com/products/radeonxpress200series/

Can someone tell me if I can or not and If I can hopefully can you give me a good card to go along with it.

The other question is wtf the E drive is not working It was working all of a sudden it stopped anyone know why? Its not reading disk and is becoming annoying...
__________________

__________________
Would you like a nice hot cup of STFU
Lonewolf2006 is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

What are your system specs.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 11:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Make sure all plugs are secured in your PC. Double-check the CD-ROM wiring
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 01:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 75
Default

The computer

OP system=Microsoft Windows XP
Language=English
System Manufacturer=Compaq Presario 061
Processor AMD Sempron 3000+ MMX, 3dNow, 1.82GHz

THE GFX

Card name: ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 Series
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 Series (0x5954)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Display Memory: 256.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Default Monitor
__________________
Would you like a nice hot cup of STFU
Lonewolf2006 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 02:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 75
Default

BUMP

I really need this help guys
__________________
Would you like a nice hot cup of STFU
Lonewolf2006 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 06:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

First off that xpress200 is the onboard graphics. Just because the 200m supports a pci express add on card doesn't mean your board has the expansion slot. Have you opened the case to see if you have a pci express expansion slot? If so then how much do you want to spend on a card?

Edit - Give us the compaq model number.
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/f...name=c00004461
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 07:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 75
Default

System Model: EP016AA-ABA SR1601NX NA540


Thats the model number
__________________
Would you like a nice hot cup of STFU
Lonewolf2006 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 07:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya.. i think that one had pci-e.. pretty sure of it.. so you can go balls out on a card as long as you upgrade your power supply unit.. but lemme double check that compy first.. what kind of processor does it have?? i can have a judge off of that.. seeing as i had one of them compaq.. the sr1650nx i think it was
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 07:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ahh... take that back.. i had an sr1850nx.... sorry, maybe you don't got pci-e :x
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 08:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

It does have a pci express slot but the board only says pcie x1 not x16 even though it looks like an x16 slot not an x1 . and x1 slot is only about an inch long. If it was me I would chance it. I am gong to look it up on asus's sight as well

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...name=c00496280
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.