Help please! System won't turn on - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2008, 12:17 AM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 22
Default Re: Help please! System won't turn on

I'm still not sure where exactly to plug the connector that runs from the switch to the mobo...I don't know what 'buttons' you're talking about, i just see pins on the piece from the diagram that you showed me....
__________________

boardslide315 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 12:28 AM   #22 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Help please! System won't turn on

Sorry, I was going by the image oldskool posted. I pulled it up on Newegg and see that it is a different board. The power goes on the 4th and 5th pins from the right on the bottom row (PWRSW in the diagram). Sometimes the front connectors are flat on one side so you know which direction it goes on, sometimes not. I haven't fooled with any Gateway mobo swaps so I don't know about them.

The main ones you need are the power and HD activity light (IDE_LED). If you have a reset switch (RESET) hook it up, same with a case speaker (SPEAKER).
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 12:51 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 22
Default

I plugged the connector into the 4th and 5th connector from the right, but still nothing. Any ideas on how to override the switch?

Ok, i think i figured out the power, i got the switch to work (at least it made all the fans turn on) but i dont have any display on the monitor...

By the way i also installed a new power supply, graphics card and processor at the same time as i installed the mobo...


Also, it seems that the end of the board that goes towards the back of the case isn't getting any power at all...the light doesn't come on when i plug in the ehternet cable, the LED's on my keyboard don't turn on when i plug them into the rear USB on the mobo...could this be why the display doesn't work? (The fan does work on the graphics card tho, but it is PCI express 2.0 and is plugged in directly to the power supply.)

Ay. Any ideas??
boardslide315 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 05:20 AM   #24 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Help please! System won't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Sorry, I was going by the image oldskool posted. I pulled it up on Newegg and see that it is a different board. The power goes on the 4th and 5th pins from the right on the bottom row (PWRSW in the diagram). Sometimes the front connectors are flat on one side so you know which direction it goes on, sometimes not. I haven't fooled with any Gateway mobo swaps so I don't know about them.

The main ones you need are the power and HD activity light (IDE_LED). If you have a reset switch (RESET) hook it up, same with a case speaker (SPEAKER).
??? I posted the wrong picture ? Must have been tired .... ugghh ! Could have sworn I had it right.
oldskool is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 02:46 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 22
Unhappy Re: Help please! System won't turn on

No ideas?
boardslide315 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 03:00 PM   #26 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Help please! System won't turn on

The only real way you are going to solve this is by not using a Case that is designed to work in conjunction with a specific mobo.

It is a OEM case built to work with a OEM board for Gateway. It isnt made to have the mobo replaced and work flawlessly. The only way that would work is if you replaced it with the same EXACT mobo.

Try using a different case. One that is not designed to work with Gateway's hardware. So that you dont have to try and guess and reverse engineer how they have the power switch wired.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 03:05 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 22
Default Re: Help please! System won't turn on

Thanks mak...but I think I already solved the power switch problem, the switch works to turn on all of the fans and i can hear the hard drive and everything...but there is still no display on the monitor.

should i have installed the new graphics card before putting in the mobo?

by the way i was reading this post New Build boots but no display.

Do you guys think ram could be my problem too? Like i said i have an asus p5Q pro mobo, the ram is 1 kingston 667 DDR2 2 gb stick at 1.8 V...i was also using the stock ram that came with the gateway, but figured it probably wouldn't be good enough. I tried just the kingston stick in the yellow slot nearest to the CPU and still nothing tho.
boardslide315 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 03:45 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 22
Default Re: Help please! System won't turn on

Here are some pics of the build. (How you like the destruction job on the back of the case to make the video card fit? heh)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF0001.jpg (101.0 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF0002.jpg (101.6 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF0003.jpg (97.1 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF0005.jpg (89.1 KB, 13 views)
boardslide315 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 04:43 PM   #29 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Help please! System won't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by boardslide315 View Post
Thanks mak...but I think I already solved the power switch problem, the switch works to turn on all of the fans and i can hear the hard drive and everything...but there is still no display on the monitor.
Maybe you could take the video card out, then reseat it. Sometimes that is all it takes. Good that the switch issue is taken care of anyway. Oh, and yes, cool way to enter the case ! :laughing:
oldskool is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 04:48 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 22
Default Re: Help please! System won't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
Maybe you could take the video card out, then reseat it.
Done did it, many times. Tried both PCIx 2.0 ports, tried unplugging and replugging in the cable from the PSU to the card, tried both of the ports for the monitor cable.

Couldn't it be a ram issue or something? I also saw something about resetting the CMOS, how do I do that?
__________________

boardslide315 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Considering buying a system... UltimateCarl New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-26-2007 04:40 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.