Help needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2007, 04:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default Help needed

Hey guys wussup, I am having a big problem with this hp computer of mine. First of all its Hp Dx 6120M model with a not so bad configuration. The only problem is that it has and on-board vga which sucks big time. So now i bought a new graphics card a Ge Force 7300 GS by XFX. But now the problem is its not working Pci 16 is compatible in my mother board which is a 915G model. But the problem is that the motherboard is from Hp and the Bios sucks cuz i dont find a way to turn off the on-board. So the card isnt working though my motherboard has a Pci 16, the hp support sucked big time they cudnt help me a bit so I am counting on u guys, Please help me out.
__________________

adib is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default

Umm, if you plug your monitor into your VGA slot on your video card it should auto default to that and turn off the VGA onboard automatically. There's no explanation for this actually, now that I think about it...

If your monitor is plugged into your graphics card...how do you know the onboard VGA is on and not your card? Does your card not produce an image when plugged to the monitor, but it does when it's plugged to the onboard VGA slot? If so, make sure your card is seated properly and it's being recognized by your system. Check device manager and make sure, or in BIOS as well. If none of this works, your card might have an issue, or your mobo slot for PCI-E may be bad...also make sure your slot the card is in DOES say PCI-E or whatever on the physical board, and also make sure your card isn't an AGP card lol. Just checking
__________________

__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 03:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Well my pc cant recognize the card that I just installed. The hp guy sez that the card is not compatible?
adib is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 06:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

The card is alive and working. I checked it out on my friend's Pc and it was working. He had no integrated graphics and his one was assembled. But my one is from Hp and has a on board vga and the pc duznt identify the graphics card.
adib is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Can you go into device manager and disable or uninstall the onboard card, then shut down, install the new card and see it it picks it up?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 04:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

duzn work that way guys, I dunoo what to do. This is crazy
__________________

adib is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.