hardware installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2005, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default hardware installation

im running sis chipset with untegrated video i disabled video and tried to install new card. its seated correctly and is getting power because fan turns on but windows wont recognize that i have it installed. i tried installing it manually using add hardware in the cp but its no in the list of cards.
__________________

BIGGIE is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You need to install the drivers. Download them. For Nvidia based cards: www.nvidia.com
For ATI based cards: www.ati.com
Make sure your onboard card is disabled in your BIOS settings.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

i cant install it the new drivers because i cant even install the ones that came with the card. without windows recognizing the card the installation CD wont let me install the drivers.
BIGGIE is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 12:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

well take the card out. And download the driver from the site. Then stick in the vga card and try that it may or may not work but try it.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 03:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

no that didnt work either.
BIGGIE is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 03:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

ok hmm its onboard what company is this onboard made of and what type of vga card are you putting on this motherboard ?
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 03:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

SIS 650 and im installing a PCI geforce4 mx 420 (its a temp)
BIGGIE is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 03:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

hmm and it will not at all show feed with the vga card when you have the onbpard disabled.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 01:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

nope it wont.
BIGGIE is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 01:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

Mybe the card is dead? this really makes me wonder it should work nomatter waht.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.