Harddrive making a strange noise - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default Harddrive making a strange noise

Hey everyone.. New here have a critical question!

I was in the middle of playing some game about 20 minutes ago and my harddrive started making a strange buzzing/humming sound. To confirm it was my harddrive I unplugged it, and turned the computer on. The noise was gone when I did so. So I have it back in and everything and it "seems" everything is running a lot slower. Things are locking up, ect.

I'm wondering if anyone could give me an idea of what this problem is, and how long my HD might have left in it. I'll be monitering this thread so I'll try to reply fast.. Don't want my HD to die before I find an answer.
__________________

damican is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 10:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

Buzzing sound is usually good indicator that hdd is starting to fail. I recommend backing up all files immedietly.
__________________

__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 10:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Unfortunatly I am out of blank CD's. Would I be able to buy a new HD pop windows on it, and then load the current one as a secondary to transfer files? Also if it fails would I be able to transfer files?
damican is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by damican
Unfortunatly I am out of blank CD's. Would I be able to buy a new HD pop windows on it, and then load the current one as a secondary to transfer files?
Absolutely. As long as you change the failing hdd to slave. On the hdd there is usually a little diagram that shows whech way to move the jumper to set it to slave. When you install windows on new hdd, just set theold one to slave and attach to same ide cable as master. then you can get files off.
wicked23 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Alright I think I'll do that. Any idea on how long Imight be able to keep using this one before it goes kapoof?
damican is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 195
Default

Nobody knows for sure..It can happen anytime,so you better backup your files ASAP
johnyB_24 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

That's a good call johnyb. You really have no idea how long hard drives will last when they start to act up.

I've had an 80gig IDE start makeing noises and it was dead the next day.

And about 3 months ago my 74gig raptor hard drive started making those buzzing noises off and on, but never constantly, and the drive still hasn't failed yet!

But, for sure, play it safe. You really never know.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.