Hard Drive failure - HELP! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2006, 03:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Maybe the second hard disk is connected to a seperate IDE controller/SATA controller? Installing/updating the drivers may fix the problem.

Check device management if there are any question marks/exclamation marks. If your disk is connected to a seperate IDE controller (eg. PCI card), and there arent's any driver problems, you may still want to try other drivers.

If you are having the same problem on your friends computer, you probably used the same XP disc, and it may be messed up.

You should really be 100% that it has SP1 or SP2, and has 48bit LBA mode enabled, because otherwise disks larger than 137GB (127GiB) will not be detected properly.
If you don't have SP1 or SP2 you can ofcourse enable it using X-Setup, or by Googling on how to do it manually in the register.

You could also try disabling 48bit LBA mode, rebooting, enabling it again. Who knows, maybe it helps.

EDIT: If both disks are on the same cable, try setting both to Cable Select (CS) using the little jumpers on the back of the disks. Also do this if the slave is connected with a CD-ROM device.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 03:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

no, its nothing like that, i dont know the other guy whose friend has had the problem. Ive had the disks working prior to reinstallation so its not a cable thing, and it is detected fine, it just says unallocated space (on several machines too, not just my own).

But thanks a lot for the input

Pete
__________________

brainstrainer is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 07:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Yes, disks were fine prior to rebuilding. Problem only occured after reinstalling XP. Exactly the same as above.
Redvers is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 07:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Did you use that XP disc before?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 08:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

yes, same disk ive used on 3 machines for years
brainstrainer is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 08:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

just a simple question...by any chance did you delete the partion on the drive by accident in xp install setup?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 08:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

lol, I'm pretty sure i didnt, i selected the C partition, deleted it, formatted it ntfs and installed windows on it - thats the disk thats still working, if id deleted the wrong partion, windows would have installed on that one, surely, and in any case the other disk is a slave not a master, and therefore I dont think its even an option.

In any case, I wouldnt have accidentally deleted all of the partitions, there were 3 of them.

Pete
__________________

brainstrainer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.