Half Ram Being Used? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2006, 04:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Socket 754 can't run in dual channel, but your ram still should be able to run at 200mhz in single channel.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 04:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

512mb 200mhz is faster and i get more fps on de_nuke on Counter-strike Source. constant 100 then 2x512 100.5mhz ...drops as low as 40. so i would really like to get this fixed =[ SOMEONE HELP i have a match on monday =[
__________________

leGitlikewhaa is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 07:40 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

your problem has nothing to do with dual channel, dual channel doubles the bandwidth of your installed ram NOT the speed.

If your ram and mobo/FSB support 200Mhz speed then you ought to be able to get both sticks running at that.
You can change configuration options for yout RAM in your BIOS, to enter which you press the indicated key when you switch your computer on.

Check out your mobo manual for supported configurations.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 02:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

my bios has nothing on mhz for ram only voltage .. and mhz for agp and cpu
leGitlikewhaa is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 03:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

i need a program that changes timings on ram. is there such thing? cause my bios doesnt have any options on changing hertz
leGitlikewhaa is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 04:04 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I'm sure it does but the features are likely hidden? What brand motherboard to you have?

try presing ctrl-F1 when you are in the bios main screen.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 05:33 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

i have a gigabyte Triton K8N PRO
leGitlikewhaa is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 07:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I believe gigabyte do hide the advanced features of the BIOS, do try pressing Ctrl-F1 from the BIOS menu and see if you then have any more options within the settings.
I'll look around and see if I can confirm this.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 02:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

i tried ctrl-F1 at the main bios screen.. and nothing changed.. Just the page reloaded, but nothing new. I appreciate you helping.. i really do
leGitlikewhaa is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 03:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Your CPU:RAM ratio is wrong. It should be 1:1 (1.0). At the moment it displays CPU/20, which probably means 200/2.0 = 100Mhz.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.