Games crashing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2006, 06:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default Games crashing

Ok i say games but i've only tried one so far

Anyway, i recently bought some new hardware for my PC.

I got a new Asus A8N - SLI SE motherboard
Using My current AMD 64 3000+ Venice processor
A new Sapphire Radeon X1600 XT 256MB GDDR3 gfx card to replace my 9800Pro 128mb
And a new 160GB sata hdd.

Now before on my old PC, i could run Battlefield 2 fine. Was on minimum settings but it worked.

However, when i run the game on my new system, i can get into the menus fine but when a game starts, the system crashes forcing me to reboot.

I noticed this happened before to me on my old system after i overclocked the CPU but it isnt overclocked on this system.
Its at 200mhz X9 and HT multiplier of 5.

These are the same settings as my old PC.

I thought maybe the cpu might not be getting a high enough voltage.
So i upped the voltage to 1.5

Still crashing.

A few other issues, when i log on to windows, the screen flickers. Never happened before.
I also had a problem with the memory. Windows kept saying there wasnt enough memory available to perform this task. I dont even know what "this task" is. It just appeared whenever i logged on.

So i set my ram at 333mhz instead of 400mhz which fixed that problem.

Anyway, can anyone find a solution to fixing my problem?
I've tried tests such as memtest86 to test my mem and Prime95 and there are no errors

Dr Watling is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

the usual checks first, all correct drivers installed and up to date? when you say BF2 crashed when you loaded a game, when exactly do you mean and how consistently? i used to have BF2 crash as soon as it started trying to load a map, i had to re-install it.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2

all correct drivers are installed and up to date.
Happens as soon as the map starts where you select your team and kit
The window fades in with the map n kit on and then it just stops and i have to reboot.

I cant Alt+tab out, cant close the program with Alt+F4, cant windows+D, nothin works.
Dr Watling is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.