In game lag/freezes RAM related? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2010, 07:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: In game lag/freezes RAM related?

my computer refuses to boot from that file, I keep selecting my CD Drive, and it just boots windows! does it have to be on a CD ROM? I have it on a DVD
__________________

roweder is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 08:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: In game lag/freezes RAM related?

It needs to be on a CD, I believe.

And please do not put the ISO directly on the CD. You need to burn that ISO file to CD.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 08:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: In game lag/freezes RAM related?

Ok, we don't have any CD's left in the house (smiley smacking itself in the face), I tried 2 DVD's already (burning) and it didn't work, then I tried a flash drive and it said missing operating system (another smiley smacking itself in the face).

Do you think a flash drive with the binary file would work?

Edit: That did the same thing, missing operating system, but at least it told me that instead of just booting windows
roweder is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 08:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: In game lag/freezes RAM related?

you need to specially burn the iso onto the pen drive. I've never seen that done, though. You cannot put the ISO file itself on the CD/DVD, so it cant be d:/memtest.iso
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 08:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: In game lag/freezes RAM related?

There is probobly a thread just like this one in TF:

How to Burn a Bootable ISO File - Tech Support Forum

My dad told me that I needed to create the disk as an ISO boot disk, so I googled how to burn an iso disk and found out! Wish me luck, it just finished!
roweder is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 09:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: In game lag/freezes RAM related?

No you do not. You can run Windows setup from CD. Same principle.

Burning ISO Images with ImgBurn - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 09:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: In game lag/freezes RAM related?

Well, the DVD I made with that website's advice worked, it ran once and started a second run, but I stopped it, I'm going to let it run all day tomorrow when I'm at school, hopefully that'll find any issues if there are any.


Did you read my earlier post? Does it seem to you like my computer should have enough power to play MW2 in 1920x1080 without pauses or freezes?

this is the post I'm talking about:

Quote:
they're like the screen has frozen then recovers, it will stay frozen anywhere from .5 to 3 seconds, but it never shuts down after them, it just continues as if it was internet lag, but there is a clear difference between them and internet lag and they will happen when I'm host. They don't happen that often, but when they do they always continue to happen one after another every minute or so. Does this sound like a RAM issue to you? Do you think it would be unusual for my setup to be insufficient for MW2 in 1920x1080?
roweder is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 09:46 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: In game lag/freezes RAM related?

Please calm down, once we know the outcome of the RAM, we can get closer to what is wrong.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 09:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: In game lag/freezes RAM related?

Okay, I'm calm. I was just wondering if you were waiting for the outcome of the ram or had missed what I had written, I'm not getting anxious or angry at all. I probably should have worded that response better.
roweder is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 10:02 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: In game lag/freezes RAM related?

Your computer has more than enough power to run MW2, it should run circles around it, lol.

Looking at this from a software perspective, it's possible there may be a rogue process mucking things up, I've seen it happen before. Something that spikes CPU usage maybe. I would check your processes to see if there's anything odd running, also check your msconfig for any weird programs in the startup menu.

Also, the results from the memtest will tell us if it's hardware related.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
game freezes pc. help! rjstamey PC Gaming 4 09-03-2008 07:37 PM
Comp Freezes when trying to listen to music or any media related PurpleHaze Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 06-20-2006 09:04 PM
Bad Freezing, Game Related Craqa Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-25-2006 03:51 AM
Area 51 game freezes sausagerolls99 PC Gaming 5 08-04-2005 03:30 AM
Every game freezes, or kicks me out! project95talon Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-11-2005 01:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.