First time using Routers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default First time using Routers

I've already grown used to have a really stabled and lovely internet connection through having only one computer connected to the modem, if I were to connect a second computer via router to the modem would my connection be compromised between the two?

Or atleast have any major effect?
__________________

__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

Nope.

The only main downside would obivously be that you'd be sharing the bandwidth of the Internet connection...

...But if you have alot of bandwidth, then you shouldn't experience performance issues when surfing the Internet on the PCs.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Aw, so it's still 'somewhat' compromised. I mean I do have plenty of bandwidth, but I guess it's alright.
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 11:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

It depends on what your doing on both computers at that time.I have 3 hooked up and no problem unless im gaming online and then it gets draged down.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 06:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Agreed it will only slow down if others are doing a heavy load..just like any LAN would. I am usually the one abusing the connection though so I dont worry to much
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.