firewall blocking, but dont no which firewall - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2005, 01:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
Default firewall blocking, but dont no which firewall

Well 2day my comp decided 1 of it's firewalls just wont let a P2P prog. i use, gain acess. Now i cant find which firewall is blocking the prog. I've turned all of them off n tried it again but its still being blocked. Then my ZoneLabs keeps saying its blocking it but it never did this before. So then i shut ZoneLabs down and it still dont help. Any Suggestions?
__________________

maxxx6969 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
Default

anyone, please?
__________________

maxxx6969 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Why are you using so many firewalls? 1 working firewall will do the trick. In the mean time, turn them all off. Does it work? If so you're right, it's the firewall, if not something else is wrong. Next turn 1 firewall on. Does it work? If it does that one's ok. Turn the next one on, does it work? When it stops working you'll have found the culprit. Have you tried this?
xr280xr is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
Default

hey thanks for the quick reply, yea ive tried turning em all off but theres still a firewall on. is there a way i can check all my firewalls that are turned on? should i delete all my anti spy-ad ware progs for a quick min and then try it?
maxxx6969 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 01:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

You dont need to do that but you should only use one firewall.I would disconnect from the internet and delete all the firewalls and reinstall the one you want.And the update it and call it good.Do you have winXP sp2 it has its own firewall also although its not very good it may be on.Go into your control panel and security and you can disable it there.And then just put on ZoneAlarm.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 01:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

definitely uninstall some of those firewalls you don't want/need
keep zonealarm
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 05:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
Default

So is there any way to check all the current firewalls my comp is running. I've done everything else but nothing seems to be working.
maxxx6969 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 08:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Do you by any chance have a router?
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 12:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
Default

My Cable modem is connected straight to my comp.
maxxx6969 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 01:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Yeah, you should only use one (software) firewall and if you want one (hardware) firewall. Pick one software firewall and uninstall or disable the others.

Every firewall has a function that you can assign access to internet based programs. This will create rules for each program. Sometimes what you need to do is completely clear that list. Remove every program that you are allowing to access the interent. Then do an automated search or a manual search with the firewall to find all programs that need internet access. Then allow all to have access. Apply those settings to your firewall. Then restart your PC.

That usually does the trick.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.