Extracting data from hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to MikeyE
Default Extracting data from hard drive

The situation is I need to get some important files from the hd of a friend's dead machine. Can't do it on my laptop of course so I'm stuck using my parent's really old Radio Shack purchased Compaq piece of crap.

I was hoping this would be as easy as taking the drive from the dead machine, setting it to slave and plugging it into IDE channel 2 on the Compaq.

Tried that and it won't boot. Goes through BIOS then just sits there with a cursor blinking on a black screen.

I ensured that the Compaq's working hard drive is set to Master. Actually without the slave drive installed it works just fine. Just when i plug in the slave drive it won't boot.

Looked through the BIOS settings (some proprietary Compaq written bios) and can't see anything that would prevent a slave drive from working.

I suppose I could get an external hard drive carrier and do it that way with my laptop but I was hoping to get these files tonight, it's pretty important.
__________________

__________________
A+ Hardware/OS whoop dee doo
MikeyE is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Make sure that if you've set the original drive to master, and the secondary drive to slave, that they are plugged into the corresponding master IDE and slave IDE connectors.

Next, try going into BIOS and check to see if the drive is detected and configured.

Also, if the secondary drive is detected, check the boot order to ensure that the primary drive is set as the primary boot device.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to MikeyE
Default

Thanks Alvin C.

I verified the above settings. The BIOS options are very limited on this p.o.s. but the drive appears to be detected on boot up.

I actually have the CD-ROM set as the first boot device so maybe that's a problem. I'll give it a shot
__________________
A+ Hardware/OS whoop dee doo
MikeyE is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

If it a really old machine, the ide config may not support the boot for that larger DMA HD, that is if it is Ultra DMA 66 or higher, that old compac willnot read that new hard drive. You might need to buy an external USB HD enclosure and pull the data to your laptop that way. You can buy one on Newegg for not too much and then you'll have the enclosure for use with you laptop for addtional storage and back up (which you need anyway).
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to MikeyE
Default

Ok, disregard. I got it to work now. Not sure what I did different this time, just gave it another shot and i can read all the data on the drive. Phew! Thanks anyways for your help.

Now due to the lack of a CD burner i just have to hook up my external usb hard drive, transfer the files, hook the drive to my laptop then burn 'em.

Thanks again!
__________________
A+ Hardware/OS whoop dee doo
MikeyE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.