Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2010, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem

Hi there,

I've recently bought a used Eclipse SLI (still in warranty) and an i7 920 (D0). I was building my comp for about 3hrs figuring all that cable inside the Thermaltake Spedo Adv. to finally finish and have a PC that wont pass POST...

I've installed a 6Gig Kit from Crucial The Kit

After some fiddling around with Clear CMOS and battery removal I've finally got it running. At first but I had to reset the BIOS and on the POST screen I've noticed briefly that the comp had 4096MB of RAM (4GB). I thought it was something else coz the screen went by fast. I've waited for Windoze 7 to load and quickly went to task manager to see my new 4 Cores and 4Threads And then... I saw under Physical Memory that I had only 4GB of RAM... I went back into BIOS in the system info and saw that there are indeed 4GB of RAM... in Triple Channel !! I then went into DRAM config and there were setting for 3 Sticks of Ram... weird. Rebooted into Windows again and opened up CPUz to find that it was "seeing" 6GB of Ram in Tripple Channel config..


My OS is: Windows 7 64 Ultimate

P.S. The DLED2 screen is always ON and it always displays CPU Ini.

What should I do next?
I've tried the Ram sticks one by one but the comp wont POST with 1 stick installed... it will tho with 2 sticks but then it shows only half the amount of memory again!

Thanks
__________________

petsoukos is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem

You never should of bought that kit from Crucial. They'll probably only replace it. If you can talk them into a refund you should try one of these.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8T-6GBRM - Desktop Memory

Newegg.com - OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Model OCZ3G1600LV6GK - Desktop Memory
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 12:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem

Do you think it's memory related? And what about CPUz showing 6GB and TriChan and Bios showing 4GB TriChan? Very odd.. Never encountered something like that before.
petsoukos is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 12:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem

Your mobo should have 6 memory slots, 3 will be a color and the other 3 will be a different color. Are all the modules in the same colored slots? If not, they should be. Try running memtest.
Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool

The memory kit is going to be the easiest part to exchange, thou you may want to go ahead and try to RMA the mobo at the same time.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem

The sticks are in the correct slots as indicated by the Mobo's manual. I'll check another TriChan kit before I RMA the Mobo...
petsoukos is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 09:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem

Lets brake it down a little bit...

BIOS sees 4GB out of 6GB
BIOS sees 3 DDR3 sticks installed and running in TriChan mode
POST screen displays 4096MB OK
Windows sees 4086MB out of 6GB (Win7 64bit)
CPUz sees 6GB of RAM running at 1333Mhz CL9 1.5V
Everest 5 sees 4086MB of RAM but 3 DDR3 sticks installed and running at TriChan

How weird is that?
petsoukos is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 07:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem

Yet another Benchmark that "sees" 6GB of Ram...

x264 HD BENCHMARK 3.0 RESULTS

Please do not compare it with older versions of the benchmark!
Please copy/paste everything below the line to to report your data

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Results for x264.exe r1342
--------------------------
encoded 1442 frames, 67.57 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 65.61 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 67.18 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 67.32 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 26.43 fps, 3949.72 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 26.41 fps, 3971.98 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 26.41 fps, 3962.72 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 25.57 fps, 3949.20 kb/s


System Details
--------------
Name Intel Core i7 920
Codename Bloomfield
Specification Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
Core Stepping D0
Technology 45 nm
Manufacturer (ID) Micron Technology (2C00000000000000)
Manufacturer (ID) Micron Technology (2C00000000000000)
Manufacturer (ID) Micron Technology (2C00000000000000)
Stock frequency 2666 MHz
Core Speed 2799.4 MHz

Northbridge Intel X58 rev. 12
Southbridge Intel 82801JR (ICH10R) rev. 00

CAS# latency (CL) 9.0
RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 9
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 9
Cycle Time (tRAS) 24
Command Rate (CR) 1T
Memory Frequency 666.5 MHz (2:10)
Memory Type DDR3
Memory Size 6144 MBytes
Channels Triple

Windows Version Microsoft Windows 7 (6.1) Ultimate Edition (Build 7600)

Number of processors 1
Number of threads 8
Number of threads 8 (max 16)
L2 cache 4 x 256 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, EM64T
Package (platform ID) Socket 1366 LGA (0x1)

Temperature 0 38C (100F) [0x26] (CPU)
Temperature 1 65C (148F) [0x41] (IOH)
Temperature 2 26C (78F) [0x1A] (System)
Temperature 0 55C (130F) [0x2D] (Core #0)
Temperature 1 51C (123F) [0x31] (Core #1)
Temperature 2 50C (121F) [0x32] (Core #2)
Temperature 3 48C (118F) [0x34] (Core #3)
petsoukos is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 04:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem

Weird stuff:
petsoukos is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 03:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem

There were a few bent cpu pins.... problem solved...
petsoukos is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 04:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Eclipse SLI X58 & Big Memory Problem

I wonder how the pins got bent?

Glad you got it figured out.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help with my memory possible problem???? e40water Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-04-2010 09:49 PM
Giveaway of the Day - Memory Washer Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 03-02-2010 08:16 AM
ram problem....big problem.... bonga Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-27-2009 06:48 AM
Consistently Inconsistent Memory Issues.... Cunjo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-04-2009 12:54 PM
Memory MOdules Problem - Timings Please Help babistor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-03-2007 05:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.