DVD-ROM Dont see it in post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2013, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default DVD-ROM Dont see it in post

My DVD-ROM, lite-on, does not want to work. When I power up, I see the green light on the front light up, and I can hit the open button and the tray will open and close. But I don't see it in the Setup, or during the start up process. So is it toast?
__________________

Runfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: DVD-ROM Dont see it in post

Has it been working and then just stopped?
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,514
Default Re: DVD-ROM Dont see it in post

Is it a selectable option in the Boot Selection screen of the BIOS?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 10:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: DVD-ROM Dont see it in post

Yeah it was working, but i haven't used it in a long time, so I'm not sure how long it has been not working. Yeah I looked all through my BIOS screens and cant see it anywhere. I think I remember seeing it in the list of IDE devices with my two hard drives before. But I cant see it anywhere now, and I swapped the SATA cable to another spot on the MB , but still don't see the drive. Anyway I bought a new one from New Egg .it was only 17.00 $ free shipping, so that's easy. It just seams strange that it would go bad when I see the green light come on, when I power the comp up and the door will open and close ok.
Runfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: DVD-ROM Dont see it in post

there's a difference between it not showing up in the bios and not working. Does it work in windows once you boot up? Is the DVD Drive connected through IDE or Sata?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.