dvd burner troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2005, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default dvd burner troubles

ok, i have 2 pcs that have dvd burners in them, both are sony dvd units; SONY DW-U18A

heres the problem:

i can copy files to the dvd-burner drive as temporary files (in the "you have files waiting to be written to the cd" place in my computer) but when i put in a (blank) DVD+R, they disappear and there are no options for burning anything, until i eject the (blank) DVD+R, then they come back

so i try dragging files to the drive with the (blank) DVD+R in the drive and it says:

windows encountered an error while trying to copy the file, do you want windows to: *retry* *cancel*

retry dont work, and well u know what cancel does

GRR, frustrating! all the drivers and latest patches are installed from microsoft, and i have tried fuji and memorex DVDs, heres the kicker, ive burned DVDs with both of them before FROM THE SAME SPINDLE, ON THE SAME OPERATING SYSTEM< AND IN THE SAME COMPUTERS, its just been a while, also CD-Rs will burn fine, and yes they are both DVD+R compatible, Windows-XP PRO, SP2
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 06:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to tech4uknown
Default

What program are you using to burn dvds? I know that the software that microsoft uses, where it says files are waiting to be burned only allows just cds not dvds, but i could be wrong.
__________________

tech4uknown is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

i thought i had burned a dvd with windows before, im pretty sure i just did it the same way i do cds, but neways what would u guys suggest as a good program to burn dvds?
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You should look into using a 3rd party software... I have seen nothing but problems from using explorer to add/remove files from disks.

Try roxio
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 01:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to tech4uknown
Default

Well, I use Nero, and to make up copies of movies I use CloneDVD its does the job for me...
tech4uknown is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 05:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Default

i use dvd decrypter to back up my dvd's onto my harddrive
i then use dvdshrink to recompress them and burn them onto disk using nero
HLRAZA is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 07:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

deep-burner is the only freeware program i've come across from memory that actually has some decent functionality. give it a try. nero is the best. i too was also under the impression that dvd's couldn't be burned with windows
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 01:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to tech4uknown
Default

Well i use Clone DVD plus AnyDVD to decrypt it, it just duplicates the movie but makes it fit on a dvd, with all the extras to me its simple.
tech4uknown is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 02:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

IM NOT TRYING TO COPY MOVIES im trying to make data cds
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 02:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Sounds like Nero is having problems recognizing the ATAPI drivers for your DVD burner. I would completely uninstall Nero. Clean the registry and remove all reg entries for Nero and reinstall Nero fresh. Bye the way, are you sure that, when in Nero, you used the DVD drop down section and selected Data DVD? I'm sure you probably did but, being guilty of numerous brainfarts myself, it never hurts to check!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.