Dusting my rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2009, 07:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
up-smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 157
Default Dusting my rig

I don't have compressed air, so what other ways can I go about dusting and cleaning the inside of my rig?

I would imagine a damp rag would be a bad thing.
__________________

up-smash is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Dusting my rig

Well I have used a vacuum with a soft brush attachment. No, don't use a damp rag, that would be bad. Canned air would be a good investment.
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 07:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
up-smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 157
Default Re: Dusting my rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
Well I have used a vacuum with a soft brush attachment. No, don't use a damp rag, that would be bad. Canned air would be a good investment.
doesn't a vacuum create some kind of static electricity that is bad for the components?
up-smash is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 07:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Dusting my rig

Well it could I suppose, but it certainly is less risky than a wet rag. And I have never zapped anything using a vacuum. I haven't had any problem. You could use one of those monitor cleaning pads if you wanted to be safe. Im sure someone has a better idea, just telling you what I have had luck with.
oldskool is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
up-smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 157
Default Re: Dusting my rig

ok thanks
up-smash is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 08:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Dusting my rig

You can pick up some PC Cleaning Vacuume Clean kit. They are an extra attachment that you can put on your vacuum cleaner.

Personally i am a big fan of using Canned Air and you can reach into places that you can normally not reach. And do not be too scared to take apart fans and heat sinks.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 08:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Dusting my rig

canned air......uhmmm

maybe a small kind of duster type thing for the easy out in open areas that are large enough for it?

dad has a lot of pellet rifle accessories like big compressed air tanks and pumps for them...so cleaning a PC is easy for me :\ so maybe find a friend (or you) that's into that or paintball.....

but still..compressed air in any form is the best way to go
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my Phenom II 940 rig for sale tastegw Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 04-26-2009 09:51 PM
Building a new rig Sonofjohn New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-19-2009 01:09 AM
Quad GPU motherboard recommendations for folding rig jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-18-2009 08:28 PM
Striker II Extreme 790i, new rig problem. System slow? manowar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-09-2008 05:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.