Dead Motherboard in my new comp? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2006, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Default Dead Motherboard in my new comp?

Hi, My I have recently built a computer but am having problems with it. When I first put it together it was fine but around 45min after it was on the bottom on the screen took the reflection of the top part and froze. I had to turn it off but when i tried to restart it the computer would not post. I then tried to reset the cmos but that did not help. When I turn it on the fans will spin and i can hear my drives turning on but the screen remains black. I do not think it is the cpu because I was watching the temp close and it was only are 35-40C on my E6400. So thinking it was the motherboard I pulled all the things out as I have heard that if is working it should beep to say that all the parts are missing. It did not make any sound so all I can assume is that the motherboard is dead correct? Also if it is dead newegg will let me return it right? I have tried many different things and I am pretty sure It was put together correctly because this is my second build. Any ideas that you have are greatly appreciated, or any comments at to what seems to be the problem.

my mobo is a ds3 965G
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128018
cpu is a C2D E6400
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115004
PSU Rosewill 550 watt
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182027
__________________

9mm2000 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

it may well be your mobo but try a diff gfx card and ram first, just to rule them out since you described graphics problems
__________________

__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

might be also VGA or RAM problem my friend.
according to what you said, "it was on the bottom on the screen took the reflection of the top part and froze" is forced more to vga problem. replace every part you suspect that might causing the problem. if there any news post again.
djb is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Default

The G model on the ds3 already had integrated graphics so that is another reason I think it is the motherboard. There is no way for me to test the ram since I only have one stick of it. Do you know if that mobo needs ram to post since some do and some don’t(older ones I think). I tried it both with and without the ram and it never worked. Also when I have the cpu in and turn it on it will go on and off ever few seconds like it is trying to start but cant. So I guess it is a good chance the mobo is the only problem of should I also return the other parts? I just want to make sure this is not a cpu problem because I cant return it for much longer. One last thing I do not really get is that if the motherboard was dead then why do things plugged into it still work?
9mm2000 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 12:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

You can't make sure if the problem is on mo/bo or cpu without checking the cpu on another system, or the system with another cpu. also since i know there is nothing (equipment) to check the cpu if is ok.

About that: "One last thing I do not really get is that if the motherboard was dead then why do things plugged into it still work?" Motherboard has many circuits that working separetly, or according the voltage on other spots (on other circuits). Some could be ok if are stand alone circuits, some might will not functioning because of harm on other spots.
djb is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Default

So is there any way to tell if the mobo or the ram is dead or will I just have to try it and fine out? Since it keeps restarting if the cpu is in does this mean there is a problem with it or could the motherboard be the only cause?
9mm2000 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

no.. still could be anything, and still there is no way to check what is the problem. that's why people make the workshops
__________________

djb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.