CPUZ - Shows 3.4 in BIOS // 2.2 in CPUZ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2008, 09:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default CPUZ - Shows 3.4 in BIOS // 2.2 in CPUZ?

I opened CPUZ and it shows my cpu running @ 2.2 with themultiplier x6.. but once every now and then, just watching it, it changing to 3.4 with x9..

wtf? Is my cpu bad or something?
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 09:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: CPUZ - Shows 3.4 in BIOS // 2.2 in CPUZ?

lets see. Amd CPU?

do you have cool and quiet enabled in the bios? cause it will change the cpu speed based on what your computer thinks are the needs of it at the time.
__________________

networkgeek is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 06:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: CPUZ - Shows 3.4 in BIOS // 2.2 in CPUZ?

If its the Intel cpu in your sig disable C1E and EIST in BIOS. This will turn of Speedstep, which is Intel's version of Cool and Quiet.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: CPUZ - Shows 3.4 in BIOS // 2.2 in CPUZ?

Theres a whole sticky on this:

CPU Speed Changing? Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 09:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: CPUZ - Shows 3.4 in BIOS // 2.2 in CPUZ?

cheers!
Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bios for my motherboard Quake_City Microsoft Windows and Software 13 03-29-2008 09:47 AM
core2duo shows half speed in BIOS and Windows for one core PolishPaul Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-23-2008 10:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.