CPU Usage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2012, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 45
Default CPU Usage

Hey guys, Could you have a look at my processes and tell me what i dont need -
Left my computer turned off over the weekend come back today, and poooof, my CPU wants to use 45% + of the CPU

When usually it uses around 4% with skype and firefox open;

Processor is 1090t X6 black edition @3.2

ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting
ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting
ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting

Cheers
__________________

Daretadakatsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 03:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: CPU Usage

Instead of filtering by memory usage, filter by CPU usage and see what keeps using the CPU.. Click the "show processes from all users" button as well.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 45
Default Re: CPU Usage

79 Process's at the moment
ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting
Daretadakatsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: CPU Usage

Is your CPU usage high right now? Exit programs that you're not running right now, and remove unneeded items from startup as well.

Start > type msconfig > press enter > go to the Startup tab. Uncheck programs you don't need starting up automatically.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 45
Default Re: CPU Usage

Yep, already done all that removed things i didn't want months ago, usage is around 30+ now and skipping alot even with steam firefox and skype shut down.

oh and whats Spoolsv.exe
Daretadakatsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: CPU Usage

Spoolsv is usually printer related.

Unless it's running from a non-system directory, then it can be malware.

Have you tried scanning with MBAM to see if it finds any malware or viruses by chance?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 45
Default Re: CPU Usage

Yeah there is nothing there
Daretadakatsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: CPU Usage

When you're CPU usage is that high again grab a screenshot of your processes then. It doesn't really help showing a list when your usage is at 0 or 5% because the culprit isn't showing itself.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 45
Default Re: CPU Usage

Yeah i figured
__________________

Daretadakatsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cpu usage 1956bjohnson Laptops and Notebooks 2 10-28-2011 02:30 PM
CPU usage nosbusch2005 Folding @ Home 17 09-28-2010 11:48 AM
CPU @ 50% Usage RaXoR Overclocking and Modding 10 04-08-2009 08:46 PM
CPU Usage And Crashing, svchost.exe sucking up CPU Usage Bahamut Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 05-30-2007 06:01 PM
CPU Usage going beyond 60% NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 10 12-18-2005 08:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.