CPU temperature problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2010, 07:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

I use auto because I got no clue what Vcore to take, CPU-Z says it's currently at 1.376v.
__________________

lill87 is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 08:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

Okay, thats too high, becasuse cpu-z reports lower than the BIOS setting. Thats your heat issue. 3Ghz shouldn't need a Vcore change.

Set it at 1.35 and test it.. If its stable, drop again to like 1.3, retest, and adjust.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 08:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

How do I know if its too high or too low, is there a way to see if it is?
lill87 is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 08:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

To high and the cpu will run to hot.

To low and the computer will be unstable/crash/BSOD
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 08:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

To low it won't properly start. To high it goes BANG.

Set the Vcore under 1.37, and run it at load, use prime95 or intel burntest to check for stability. If it doesnt fail or lockup, drop it a couple, 1.34, and retest. just keep going.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 10:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

I tuned it down to 1.325v and it seems to work fine stability wise, the temp is at 50-55C in full load. Thanks!

Btw, what's there to think about when overclocking my GPU (GeForce 8800GT)?
Do I only have to think about the temperature and stability, and what's a good temperature?

Currently my GPU is running at 50C idle and 62C full load.
lill87 is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 10:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

You could probably lower the vcore more, but not bad.

Youre running alittle hot on the gpu... But yha temp and stability.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 10:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

I just noticed something. Before I overclocked my CPU, my memory speed was 1066 1066 in BIOS. Now they are 800 800 in BIOS, why did it go down?

And according to CPU-Z program it says memory is PC2-6400 (400MHZ), but I have PC2-8500 (1066MHZ).
lill87 is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 08:10 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

Just go into the bios and adjust your memory settings manually.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 09:50 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

I went into BIOS and changed RAM Frequency from (800, 800) and upped it to around 1066~ but it just crashes so it doesnt seem to be working.

This is the info CPU-Z gives me about the memory:


I use these memory cards:
Corsair Dominator 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 XMS2 PC2-8500C5, Click for more info.

Any idea on why it says that?
__________________

lill87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get CPU temperature monitor? Dant22185 System Upgrades 6 10-01-2009 08:12 PM
HP small compact desktop with a cpu upgrade problem... -RockMan- Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-10-2009 02:48 AM
Computer without CPU fan? lazycat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-28-2008 12:01 AM
urgent temperature problem mikee Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 10-27-2008 01:52 PM
Problem Installing CPU Noniy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-24-2008 03:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.