controlling fans, and power connections - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2007, 03:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Default controlling fans, and power connections

I hope someone can help me as i'm a bit puzzled.
I'm currently building a new pc & I was about to purchase a fan controller when a review made me think. It stated your fans must be on a 3 wire plug and not the 4 wire molex ones.

So i checked out my new case a mystique 631 and the front and back fans have 3 wire connections attached to 4 wire molex's but they can be removed so they should work fine.
The problem is the cpu fan, its an artic cooling freezer pro 7 and upon looking at that it appears to have a different connection all together. It goes to a small white plastic connector with 4 holes and the instructions says to attach to a point on your motherboard. So i'm a bit confused whether i can control that fan.

The reasoning behind all this is i was going to buy the coolermaster cooldrive 4 which i know is now a couple of years old but i like its looks. One of the faults on this unit is an alarm sounds everytime you boot the pc if you dont connect 3 fans to the available connections, and i don't want that.

So i hope i have supplied enough info and what ie said makes sense.
Thanks for reading.

GreyMackUK is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 05:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351

all i can say is its a veryt BAD idea to control your cpu fan,,, newer mobos do it for you anyways based on its temp...

E6300 Core 2 Duo
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 08:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20

Ok i respect your view but it doesn't really help me.

The fan controller im after had this annoying alarm that starts everytime you boot up if a fan is not connected, now i could fool it by attachig another fan but at the moment my pc will only have 4 fans 1 in the cooldrive 4, one in front of case one in the back and the last the cpu fan.
I'm not sure what else i can do
GreyMackUK is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

The connector should be on your motherboard.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.