Computer Won't Power on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2012, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Computer Won't Power on

The motherboard gets power and has green leds, But the CPU and GPU won't turn on what could be the problems?

Specs:
i5 3570k
XFX 7870
ASUS Z77
OCZ Modxstream 700w
__________________

Talyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 03:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Computer Won't Power on

Everything plugged in? 24pin as well as 4/8 pin plus the pci-e

Have you tried reseating the ram, or booting out of a case?

Is the power button plugged in correctly?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Computer Won't Power on

Yes the 24 pin and 8 pin are plugged in but i have a question I have another psu with a 4 pin could i try that on a 8 pin motherboard and see if it boots? I reseated the ram and i havent tried booting out of a case . Yes i even tried the paper clip trick to test it
Talyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 04:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Computer Won't Power on

Yes you can use the 4pin , just make sure youre using the right 4.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Computer Won't Power on

The same thing happened nothing so is it the motherboard or could it be something else
Talyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Computer Won't Power on

You could be grounded out, pull the mobo out of the case, place it on cardboard.
try booting with just ram and cpu... and gpu if you don't have the onboard gpu.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 11:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Computer Won't Power on

Alright so now i tried a 500w 80 Plus psu that my friend let me borrow and now it turns on all fans turn on then 3 or 4 beeps come so I think its the memory since the gpu and cpu fans all spin. Im gonna buy 8 gbs of 1600 ram today maybe 16 gbs if its a good sale
Talyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Computer Won't Power on

Depends on your beeps.. Get the mobo guide and it'll tell you what they mean.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Computer Won't Power on

Alright so it has 3 beeps and it said memory so i went to frys and bought 16 gb 1866 mhz ram for 60 dollars after rebate I install them and still the same problem.
Talyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Computer Won't Power on

Hmm, not good... obviously.

Have you tried clearing the CMOS/BIOS? Use the jumpers on the mobo to do it.

Also try to boot only with 1 stick. it's possible they are not gettin set right in the BIOS.

Have you double checked you have the sticks in the correct slots?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer won't power on CaptainShake Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-24-2011 05:22 PM
Computer won't power up at all. Kaliaila Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-15-2009 06:46 PM
Computer won't power up Dr Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-17-2008 11:00 PM
computer won't power on! kakashi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-07-2007 09:18 AM
computer won't power bball100 System Upgrades 3 12-17-2005 01:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.