Computer stuck in reboot loop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2008, 08:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to Mach1threat
Default Computer stuck in reboot loop

I have an extra computer lying around, and I tried hooking it up to my current setup. I noticed that I get no video, and I get power. I do notice that the keyboard lights up numlock, capslock, and scroll lock every 5 seconds. I get no beeps or anything. Heres system specs


Athlon XP 2600
Biostar M7NCD motherboard
Austin powersupply - 380watts

Ive tried plugging in one stick of ram, reseating the video card, unplugging Hard drive and cd drive, reseating power plug and all.


*EDIT* Computer also has never been overclocked, It let me get into bios screen and everything last time I tried booting it up, but It wouldnt go to windows for some reason (maybe because it got corrupted)

Please help, thank you
__________________

Mach1threat is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Computer stuck in reboot loop

Tried resetting the CMOS yet?
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 09:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to Mach1threat
Default Re: Computer stuck in reboot loop

I removed the battery from the motherboard for about a minute and replaced it. I looked up the manual for the motherboard last night, and I think I may have got the wrong one from biostars website...

The diagram showed the CMOS jumper being the one closest to the battery, so I did that one. The manual said to unplug power, switch jumper from pins 2&3 to pins 1&2, wait 15 seconds then switch it back and power it up.


After looking at the diagram I noticed my motherboard differed from the manual, so i will have to do a little more research tonight for another manual. I noticed there are 4 or 5 sets of the 3 prong connectors with the jumper over the 2nd and 3rd prong.


Am I doing that right?
Mach1threat is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Computer stuck in reboot loop

You don't have to worry about the jumpers if you remove the battery. The jumpers are just to give you another option. But when removing the battery make sure it's out for at least 15 minutes.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New built computer FREEZES please help!! welchyboy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 49 09-14-2008 10:48 PM
Need Video Card, Case, Mouse and Keyboard Suggestions r3vo1ution1991 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-06-2008 08:47 PM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.