Computer self-restarts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2006, 03:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Angry Computer self-restarts

My computer just restarts itself when i play games, and today it also restarted when i was burning a cd when i use using the internet and doing a couple of things, though when i just let the cd burn without doing anything on the cimputer it doesn't restart, what's going on?
__________________

__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 04:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90
Default

It could be the PSU or your computer is overheating
__________________

SpoiledBoar is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 04:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Default

Yeah i don't think it's overheating cause when i use my other drive, it has never restarted on me.
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 04:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Default

I mean what does it mean if i use my cdrw drive eveything works fine, i use my dvd/rw drive in games and sometimes burning it restarts, and i can view stuff on cd's and stuff so what's going on?
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Default

I am experiencing the same one. Is there any chance that the Video card could also be a component that would be affecting it?
buzza24 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Default

You see I was thinking that, though the thing is, why would one optical drve work perfectly, no restarts, whilst one drive doesn't, i mean my one that doesn't is a dvd burner, maybe it draws more power, which my PSU can't handle? What's your situation?
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 09:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigbaddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 156
Send a message via Yahoo to bigbaddog
Default

Try this:

Change your setting on the start up and recovery tab. To do this:

right click on my computer>
left click on properties>
left click on advanced tab>
left click settings on startup and recovery>
under system failure uncheck automatically restart>
left click ok.

You might get a message that you cannot uncheck that box unless Alerter is running. Just click ok and reboot. Try this....and if that does not work, LMK and we will look further.
bigbaddog is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 09:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Default

yep I've always had it to not automatically restart, but guess what no BSoD, so....hardware fault...?
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 09:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it might be too much strain on the PSU
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 09:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Default

That's my guess, i mean it is a ritmo PSU, and if i read correctly only 20A on the 12 volt rail
__________________

__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.