computer mystery - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2007, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Exclamation computer mystery

hi all, this is perhaps the strangest computer issue ive ever dealt with, maybe somebody can give me some ideas.

ive had a home built game rig now for about 2 years, has run like a dream - minus a few fan changes and a power supply replacement roughly a year ago.

it started out freezing randomly and restarting automatically in windows without any changes being made.
no problem i thought, ill just format it, but it wont format.

not a single installation program, be it windows xp 32bit, xp 64 bit, vista, not even suse or fedora linux, 32 bit and 64 bit, it doesnt care.
it doesn't freeze at a particular file, sometimes ill get half way done with an install, other times it will freeze before ive started.
when it freezes the cd drive becomes unresponsive and keyboard goes dead. sometimes it blinks.

i cant even run it with a live distro of linux, it simply freezes at various points during the mounting process. it doesnt force a shut down, when it freezes either, it just sits there... laughing at me. :freak:

ive tested all my memory, no issues there. processor, video card, and chipset are within normal temps, cd drive good, floppy disabled (useless anyway).
ive updated to the latest bios, and then back again to earlier versions, still the same problem with all of them.
it still freezes when i run a live distro of linux with the hard drive unplugged.

which in my mind means its one of two things: motherboard or power supply.
would these symptoms appear if a power supply had gone sour? or would that tend to be more a motherboard issue....
any help GREATLY appreciated - im losing my mind.
__________________

snakegriffin85 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: computer mystery

hrmmm not too sure if thats a sour power supply.. maybe i've had something simliar.. i'm not too sure, i was troubleshooting my friends ol' hp... getting random restarts and hangups which just lead to a restart.. just changed the power supply and it worked.... got any spares or know anyone who's got one?

maybe ur cpu is overheating? have you checked the temps on it
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 05:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: computer mystery

cpu runs at 50 celcius TOPS, but it doesnt get above 45 doing stuff like install... im going to slather some arctic silver 5 on that bad boy in about 2 minutes for good measure, as i install my recently purchased power supply.
hope this works...
snakegriffin85 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 07:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: computer mystery

well, i threw in that new power supply and sure enough, the problem persists.
im getting close to seeing how well my computer flys.

cpu temps normal, everything else in working condition, including brand new psu.

specs
Asus k8ne deluxe, athlon 64 3400 clawhammer, 1.5 gigs of corsair valueselect ram (tested fine x3) 120 gig seagate barricuda HD, radeon 9800 pro video card.

im out of ideas...
Hellllllp!
snakegriffin85 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 05:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default Re: computer mystery

Have you checked the Hard Drive ? The Hard drive manufacture will have a utility that you can use to check it for disk errors try that .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 07:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: computer mystery

or use hdtune
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 10:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: computer mystery

well i cant get an os working, so i need a hd analyzer that is bootable...
know of any?
snakegriffin85 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 12:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Unhappy Re: computer mystery

well, i went ahead an ran a bootable hard drive analyzer on the hard drive and it's fit as a fiddle.
NOW WHAT!!! garbage can? or should i just go ahead and buy a new mobo...
snakegriffin85 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 12:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: computer mystery

man.. talk about process of elimination here.. check for a bootable thing that checks ram.. if that don't work.. i think its pretty much been slim down to the mobo
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 01:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: computer mystery

What did you use to test your RAM? If you haven't tried Memtest86. give it a try. I am leaning more toward the RAM being your problem.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.