Computer has trouble keeping time. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2008, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Computer has trouble keeping time.

CMOS battery, right? Eh. I replaced that thing a week ago. But I have no idea how old that battery is or anything else. Here at work we have a bag of them and just go through and grab one if we need one. But, nonetheless, I replaced the battery. I heard a report that the computer was still having issues. So I went and looked at it again.

I changed the time in BIOS, not that I expected it to fix anything, but I gave it a shot. Then I booted into Windows, which this system is 2kProSP4, and I looked at the detailed time where you can see the second counter go.

Well, I noticed something. Every 5 seconds or so, there will be a hesitation on a second. It's enough to notice if you're staring it down, but not enough to notice if you didn't know what to look for. This results in the time being about 20 minutes off the following day.

Still think it's the battery? Maybe it was a bad one. I don't know. I thought that once the battery was dead - it was dead. I find it a little strange that it's almost exact every time - every 5 seconds it hesitates for 1. Sign of mobo going?? The computer has no other signs of trouble, though...
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Computer has trouble keeping time.

It is still the battery.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 02:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Computer has trouble keeping time.

I talked to the network admin. He seems to think it's a problem with the time on the server. I'm having a hard time believing it's the battery... every time I've seen a battery go out, the time has been off by a large margin... not just 20 minutes behind every morning.

He's looking into this more for the time being, and I'll wait to see if he comes up with anything. If not, I'll trek back on down with a battery.
Jayce is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 10:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Computer has trouble keeping time.

Win2K never did keep correct time. Most Windows OS are terrible about it even though the entire OS relies heavily on the clock.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 12:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Computer has trouble keeping time.

So, I tried a new battery. The teacher reported that now, the problem is worse.

Could it be a faulty motherboard?? He said everything else seems fine...
Jayce is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 12:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Computer has trouble keeping time.

Run a program like this. As long as you have internet access you'll never have to worry about the time again


NTP Monitoring
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 11:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Naphtali14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Naphtali14 Send a message via MSN to Naphtali14 Send a message via Yahoo to Naphtali14
Default Re: Computer has trouble keeping time.

It could be a motherboard issue, but im more inclined to agree with Mak213. One way to be sure about it is just get a new battery..

Ps... reena your post has nothing to do with the thread.. what are you doing.. just copy and pasting from some encyclopedia..??
Naphtali14 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 12:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Computer has trouble keeping time.

When a computer is on the battery is no longer in the circuit. The clock is then powered by the power supply. So any changes time while the computer on has nothing to do with the battery.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 12:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Computer has trouble keeping time.

All righty, folks. This problem is still occuring.

The battery has been changed out 3 times. It is not the battery. The battery is perfectly fine. The computer otherwise is completely fine and functional as well.

The trick is, we have a workgroup set up at a small school within the district I work at. We will be upgrading the server and moving them to join the main domain with the rest of the district in the next 2 months. Thing is, we need a domain to implement a time sync. So, as a workgroup, we're kind of stuck.

But I'm wondering if there is a temporary fix of some sort... because each morning his time is off by at least a half hour. There have been 1 or 2 other teachers who complained about the same thing, also with batteries in the CMOS changed. Any ideas on what can be done?

Somebody else in the tech department swears they remember doing something (a setting) that fixed it, but had no idea what it was offhand... so I'm just trying to google around to gather additional information on it.
Jayce is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 02:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Computer has trouble keeping time.

As long as you have Internet access this will work. Set the interval to reset the clock as needed to correct for errors.


Atomic Clock Sync Information from worldtimeserver.com
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
New computer wont turn on jOnniesz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-09-2007 01:08 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM
First time computer builder... zip000 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 03-31-2007 03:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.