Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2012, 10:21 PM   #51 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

I cant do that without internet
__________________

Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:24 PM   #52 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Can't do what? Download the drivers for the Linksys card?

Do the same thing you did for the dell drivers... use the computer you're on now and transfer them over.

That, or just hook up the Dell computer via ethernet cable, and you should be able to get an internet connection that way.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:24 PM   #53 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

and here comes the 4th CD.... gah. this is what I found, what do I download? Linksys by Cisco - WPC54GS Support
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:26 PM   #54 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Should be a model number on the card somewhere. Make sure it says WPC54GS on it somewhere, and that should be the driver.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:30 PM   #55 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

I downloaded it, and it didnt quite work, it gave me a file, so I broke down the file and downloaded it onto the CD and then put it on the computer. None of the files are working/downloading anything
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:34 PM   #56 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

It should have given you a zip file. Inside the zip, you'll see a folder called 2KXP. Copy that to your desktop, and then open device manager > find the network controller > right click it > click Update Driver... > select "No, not this time > Next > select "install from a list or specific location" > Next > check "include this location in the search" > Click "Browse..." > Select the folder where you copies the files to (i.e. your desktop) > Click Next > It should hopefully find the drivers.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:38 PM   #57 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

I did it! But a different way. THANK YOU SOSOSOSOSOSO MUCH FOR YOUR TIME AND HELP AND PATIENCE. Last thing. What do you suggest I do now?
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:42 PM   #58 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Glad you got it working, glad to help . I would suggest you run Windows Updates, and get it fully patched and updated, as well as get an antivirus.

I suggest Microsoft Security Essentials; its free, and a good antivirus.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:43 PM   #59 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Mattmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 251
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

Just did that, and you didn't even have to tell me thank you again so much!
Mattmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:44 PM   #60 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Computer-first post and bad with computers-ish

About the updates or the AV? And not a problem, glad to help.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two computers, one bad HDD one good HDD can I swap? kaotikvizion System Upgrades 2 12-29-2009 01:32 AM
Bought new-ish computer that isnt running properly. ibetheelmo System Upgrades 10 09-19-2009 11:37 AM
Bad Computer, Bad Jethro69 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 05-15-2007 11:36 PM
Can a bad outlet or bad surge protector cause a bad CPU? kidedward Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-22-2006 12:41 PM
Help! Built Computers Will Power Up But Not Post klop Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 01-01-2006 03:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.