Comp no longer boots! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2006, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default Comp no longer boots!

I have a Asus sli premium mobo with an AMD 4200 cpu, geforce 7800gtx, 2gb ram, 2 sata hds, and a 480w psu.

My computer had been running completely fine but after disconnecting everything and bringing it over to a friend's house, it suddenly does not boot up for some reason. The trip might have been a little bumpy so some wires might have became loose but I have tried unplugging and replugging everything but that still does not fix the problem.

The comp has not had any serious issues(except for the occasional
freeze/crash) ever since I built it about a year ago so I am really puzzled as to why such an issue would suddenly occur.

I spend a lot of time just connecting and disconnecting the wires in hopes that it might just boot up again but that obviously did not work. I then removed my hds, vid card, and ram but that also did not work. I suspected that it might have been the mobo so I switched my cpu over to another mobo I had(yes I reapplied the thermal grease) and I had weird results. The mobo itself with just the cpu actually turned on the cpu fan started spinning and I heard beeps. However, when I reconnected everything, it no longer worked!

I then began trying to pinpoint the problem by removing parts such as the hd, trying to boot, then reconnecting it and trying to boot again. I finally narrowed it down to the IDE cable that connected to the DVD drive. The mobo turned on when it was not connected and did not turn on when it was. After trying it a couple more times, I confirmed it was the IDE cable but when I tried it one last time, it no longer worked!

I then began to wonder if the psu was the problem. After some testing, I found out that the psu powers up an old outdated comp, but not mine so I am not too sure about that.

I also tried clearing the cmos?(or bios) on the mobo but that also did not have an effect.

Even with all my troubleshooting, I still cannot tell whether the problem is the cpu, mobo, or psu. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

knightrydah is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

read the sticky called post troubleshooting steps
it might help u
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I read the sticky and it's come down to the cpu but how can I verify this? And if the led on the mobo lights up, is that enough to say that the psu is ok?
knightrydah is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 02:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

I will guess that the motherboard is shorting against the case or case standoffs.

Remove the motherboard to a non-conductive surface, connecting only the power supply connectors (in other words, run the motherboard outside of the case).


are there any burn marks on the plug or the mobo itself were the PS connects to the mobo?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 06:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default

no there aren't any burn marks and i have already tried this mobo along with another outside of the case.

i also have a question, what is essential for a mobo to boot up?
i have been trying with only a cpu installed, no ram, vid card, hd, etc.
knightrydah is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 09:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

you need a CPU and stick of ram to post.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sPlAtOiD
you need a CPU and stick of ram to post.


well u also need a graphic card unless theres one built in
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 12:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default

so i'm guessing one of the essential components needed to post is at fault?
knightrydah is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 04:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

well no because if it doesnt even start then its a power supply issue but if u see the fans spin and the mobo led lights on but no POST then yes it can be the Mobo,RAm,video card, or CPU thats causing this issue

it can even be as simple as a dead CMOS battery on the mobo
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 05:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default

currently its mobo led lights but no post. fans no longer spin. don't think its the cmos either because i switched mobos.
__________________

knightrydah is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.