CD drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 10:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to Demonwithin
Default CD drive

my friends CD drive does not read CDs, technically
if she wants to burn blanks, it says theres no CDs
if she tries to open a CD with stuff on it, its blank, she needs help and i said i would ask you guys, any suggestions?
__________________

Demonwithin is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

1) Check to see if the right drivers are installed.
2) Check device manager to see if there is any conflict.
3) Check for loose cables.
4) Check to see that it's on the right IDE cable(check jumper settings too)
5) Check to make sure the CD is compatible with that CD Drive.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to drewrockshard Send a message via Yahoo to drewrockshard
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brinks
1) Check to see if the right drivers are installed.
2) Check device manager to see if there is any conflict.
3) Check for loose cables.
4) Check to see that it's on the right IDE cable(check jumper settings too)
5) Check to make sure the CD is compatible with that CD Drive.

1) there would be no drivers, it would be firmware...please check to see if there is a firmware update for the cd drive.
2) yes check device manager
3) if there were loose cables, the drive would not even show up
4) if it was on the wrong ide cable and/or jumpers it would not show up, and if it were a jumper setting it might be in the wrong order..so this is of no relevance.
5) this has no relevance either, if it reads regular CDs, it should work, media should not be a problem unless it is from another part of the world that uses a different standard...

no trying to put you on the spot. I'm just clarifying certain things so that Demonwithin doesn't screw up the computer more than it alreadyt seems to be. no need to check the hardware physically.
drewrockshard is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 10:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 32
Default

I had the same problem with mine.
It's prolly junk, but try what the others have said first.

I bought a dvd burner to replace mine.
Merz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.