Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2014, 07:17 PM   #21 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

O i got a replacement hard drive and still no luck...
I've tried Usb, Dvd, different win 7 versions and nothing...
Keeps getting stuck at Starting Windows when all 4 dots have joined.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 07:58 PM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
O i got a replacement hard drive and still no luck...
I've tried Usb, Dvd, different win 7 versions and nothing...
Keeps getting stuck at Starting Windows when all 4 dots have joined.
You have some kind of quack job computer repair on your hands.. :/
Does that guy have any devices or old hardware that might be incompatible or failing to work with Bindows 7 ? "j/k" at the name abit

Read this article here:
Installing Windows 7 hangs in "Setup is starting " [Solved] - Windows 7 - Windows 7

It maybe a long shot but that might put you right at the answer to your problem.
If it still doesnt work ask tom's forum to help out as well.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 09:29 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 114
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

I once had a core on a processor go bad and the computer would do some things and not others. Namely, the computer would hang on windows splash screen. Took the processor back and they said it was a one in 10K chance that it was what i said it was. Had them hook it up and run a diagnostic and sure enough only 3 of four cores were working. Any chance that could be related here?
the1truegamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 12:57 AM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by the1truegamer View Post
I once had a core on a processor go bad and the computer would do some things and not others. Namely, the computer would hang on windows splash screen. Took the processor back and they said it was a one in 10K chance that it was what i said it was. Had them hook it up and run a diagnostic and sure enough only 3 of four cores were working. Any chance that could be related here?
Possibly so but I doubt that it might be the problem.
I need to see his bro laptop struggle with installing linux or older win os such as vista or xp.
If we can verify that he may need to be buy a new cpu after all.
Shouldnt cost too much if coming straight from amazon or pricewatch.com.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 01:09 AM   #25 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by -RockMan- View Post
Possibly so but I doubt that it might be the problem.
I need to see his bro laptop struggle with installing linux or older win os such as vista or xp.
Krazy said he was able to boot into a LiveCD of Ubuntu just fine.

Quote:
If we can verify that he may need to be buy a new cpu after all.
Shouldnt cost too much if coming straight from amazon or pricewatch.com.
Laptop CPU's are expensive as hell; usually no worth it to replace unless you can find a really good deal on eBay for one. That's assuming you can even remove the CPU from the laptop - some are soldered onto the board, rather than just in a socket.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 01:25 AM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Krazy said he was able to boot into a LiveCD of Ubuntu just fine.
You just missed the main point of my reply didn't you ?
Boot from a live cd sure thing carne, but installing it onto the hard drive is a whole different ball game.
I think 1truegamer may have a good point though and we'll see if hes right.
@krazy the ball is in your court if you want to attempt to into linux go ahead if you will and see what happens.

software.opensuse.org:
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 01:36 AM   #27 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by -RockMan- View Post
You just missed the main point of my reply didn't you ?
Boot from a live cd sure thing carne, but installing it onto the hard drive is a whole different ball game.
I think 1truegamer may have a good point though and we'll see if hes right.
@krazy the ball is in your court if you want to attempt to into linux go ahead if you will and see what happens.

software.opensuse.org:
Erm...it's still running off of hardware as a LiveCD (CPU/RAM/etc.). Krazy said he removed the HDD and it still had issues with locking up. Installing a Linux distro at this point is moot IMO if a LiveCD worked, since he already eliminated the HDD or software as a possible cause.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 02:00 AM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Erm...it's still running off of hardware as a LiveCD (CPU/RAM/etc.). Krazy said he removed the HDD and it still had issues with locking up. Installing a Linux distro at this point is moot IMO if a LiveCD worked, since he already eliminated the HDD or software as a possible cause.
............ Ok then carne what do you suggest he does to fix it immediatetly ?
When I look at his issue I see something far more differently then what your explaining to me and him.
Installing linux is not a option eh ? not in my book carne.
I want him to atleast try that soon.
If it does not install from the dvd/cd or usb it might be a cpu problem.
Multiple attempts from different os and still a no go should point right back at the cpu.
He verified and he tested the ram, hdd, so hes running out of options to look into to find the source of the problem.
The only thing left to verify if his brothers optical drive can read the dvd/cds its given.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 02:28 AM   #29 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by -RockMan- View Post
............ Ok then carne what do you suggest he does to fix it immediatetly ?
Immediately? Replace the laptop .

Quote:
When I look at his issue I see something far more differently then what your explaining to me and him.
Installing linux is not a option eh ? not in my book carne.
I want him to atleast try that soon.
Never said it wasn't an option - just said it wasn't really necessary because we know the HDD isn't the issue since he removed it from the laptop, and the Windows install disc still had the same issues. And he tried a completely different HDD / Windows install on the laptop, and it still froze. And the Linux LiveCD works already, so installing won't really prove anything IMO.

Quote:
If it does not install from the dvd/cd or usb it might be a cpu problem.
Multiple attempts from different os and still a no go should point right back at the cpu.
A CPU issue should have cropped up when booting the laptop up...especially should have popped up when trying to load up Live Ubuntu.

As for what the true issue here is...that I'm still not sure.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 07:45 AM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
Keeps getting stuck at Starting Windows when all 4 dots have joined.
That kinda sounds like there's an issue with the boot loader, Does this laptop have any other drives in it during the install? Something like a flash card...Windows 7 has this great thing about installing the boot files somewhere else other than the operating systems drive when there's another drive detected
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have an onboard Nvidia 6100? JamezKangster Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 08-28-2006 04:48 AM
Nvidia Geforce 6100 integrated kuqdew PC Gaming 1 08-25-2006 01:30 PM
amd3800 dual core + nvidia geforce 6100 faith4 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-08-2006 04:26 PM
Used Biostar 6100-M9 underworld288 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 06-24-2006 10:41 PM
intergrated GFX 6100 fr34ky PC Gaming 10 01-27-2006 09:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.