BSOD after installing new processor - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2010, 01:06 PM   #31 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Anything other than Crysis?
Pretty much. Crysis is the most intensive game for the CPU. Search around on you will see that so many people have a hard time just trying to get a constant frame rate on the game let alone play it when they are trying to fix an issue with their system.

You need to look at Steam or some other games to try and test out your system so we can make sure that it is not the system. Using Crysis there is no way to determine if it is the system or game as it is problematic for everyone.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 01:35 PM   #32 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

I have battlefield 2 would that work?
__________________

michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 01:42 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

BF2 isn't that extreme, It is an old game.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 01:50 PM   #34 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
BF2 isn't that extreme, It is an old game.
When I was playing crysis today I put it windowed and a message said my video card drivers have stopped working then crysis got a "APPCRASH". Also can you name a good demo to test.
michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 02:17 PM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

I'm not a gamer, so I can't say, but PLEASE stop playing Crysis. We know it does not varify that your system is well.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 02:31 PM   #36 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

Sorry but we cant assist you if you are not willing to listen to our advise and do what we suggest. We have asked you not to play Crysis as it is not helping us get to the problem but compounding it.

Crysis could have easily caused your display driver to crash, or it could be a problem with the driver itself. We dont know! This is exactly why we asked you not to play that game. As we dont know which is the problem. The game or the driver.

I already gave a suggestion. MoM already agreed to the game you suggested. I dont know how much more clear we have to make it that Crysis is NOT the game to be playing at this time. It is not helping resolve anything but causing more problems!
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 02:35 PM   #37 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Sorry but we cant assist you if you are not willing to listen to our advise and do what we suggest. We have asked you not to play Crysis as it is not helping us get to the problem but compounding it.

Crysis could have easily caused your display driver to crash, or it could be a problem with the driver itself. We dont know! This is exactly why we asked you not to play that game. As we dont know which is the problem. The game or the driver.

I already gave a suggestion. MoM already agreed to the game you suggested. I dont know how much more clear we have to make it that Crysis is NOT the game to be playing at this time. It is not helping resolve anything but causing more problems!
Sorry, I didnt read MoM's post carefully. I played crysis before you posted saying that I shouldnt play it anymore, I just forgot to mention it in my posts before. I will test out battlefield 2 then.
michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 03:49 PM   #38 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

Hey I was playing battlefield 2 and I played for about 30 minutes then it loaded a new map and I selected where I was going to spawn and pressed enter then battlefield 2 just closed nothing popped up saying if it crashed or anything. It did this a second time but it happened when I was in the middle of a round.
michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 07:49 PM   #39 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

* Try restoring CMOS settings to factory defaults
* try running memtest to see if the RAM is fine
* install the newest Catalyst drivers (10.5 currently) - you can get them at game.amd.com
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 08:42 PM   #40 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
* Try restoring CMOS settings to factory defaults
* try running memtest to see if the RAM is fine
* install the newest Catalyst drivers (10.5 currently) - you can get them at The Ultimate Experience for Gaming | GAME.AMD.COM
I currently have the newest catlyst drivers. I have just ran memtest for around 8 hours it did not find any errors. I will try to restore the CMOS.
__________________

michaelvvmm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nv4_Disp.dll BSOD Lozzo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 02-08-2010 07:10 PM
After installing Norton Ghost, began to do live-update and XP freezes Blaine B. Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-23-2009 04:43 PM
Alright! Got my new E8500 Processor, need help installing King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-18-2009 04:51 AM
BSOD in COD 5 (IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL) SPL Tech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-15-2009 04:15 PM
Video card/driver causing BSOD superdave1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-20-2009 12:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.