Blue screen of death HELP!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2006, 11:10 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7

the easiest way to test the memory is to take urs out and place another one in (one that u r sure that works). same problems than its not the memory and if it fixes the problem then it is the memory. u should check to see what kind of memory u have (pc3200, 2700, 2100 are some common sticks). try to find a willing victim so u can borrow their memory stick for ur test

CCCove is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 11:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to lady strife69 Send a message via Yahoo to lady strife69

where are the memory sticks at in the comp? that could by why mines giving me the Blue screen...

lady strife69 is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 12:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

Originally posted by lady strife69
where are the memory sticks at in the comp? that could by why mines giving me the Blue screen...
Long skinny PCB boards that are usually near the CPU.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 03:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9

Well, it wasn't the ram. It's still not working. So what do I do now? HEEELLLLPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lizardcake is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 10:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia

"<windows root>\ system 32\ ntoskml.exe" If you can try booting into the windows xp disc and reformatt the drive...
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 10:57 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9

Ok, how would I go about doing that???
lizardcake is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 11:12 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 341

-Stick your Win XP disc in the CD drive, preferably the master drive if you have more than one.
-Boot to BIOS and ensure that the CD-rom is set to boot up before the Hard Drive, save and exit your BIOS setup. restart your computer if it doesnt automatically.
-When "press any key to boot from the CD" comes on the screen, press any key
-Follow the directions. You may be able to get away with just a repair install instead of a full install, which will let you keep files/settings. READ everything on the screen when you boot from the CD. If you delete a partition, you lose everything, and it can not be recovered. If keeping your files/settings are not an issue, delete the partition and do a fresh install.

Interesting to know why your windows got corrupt.

After you get windows installed, I would suggest a battery of utility programs, AVG anti-virus, Spybot S & D, Lavasoft Ad-Aware, and Use of Mozilla firefox. those will help limit any bugs you may get. Also, refer back to these forums for more help on securing your system.
The greatest measure of a nation is not it\'s army or economy, but by how many people are trying to get in, and how many people are staying!!
Guns, Guts, and Alcohol made America free.
Born American, Die American
Ubuntu - it\'s all about the bun\'s baby!!!
hillbillybob is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 12:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996

to the lady that asked where is the RAM..

This is something I scrapped, since im on a rush.. for more detailed explanation of the way a mobo built you can PM me if you want.. I will explain to you what is each and every part... anyway.. RAM/CPU:

Yoad is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 03:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9

What is this windows xp cd? Is it the two cd set for the whole entire system restore?? My computer never came with cds that only have win xp on them. Even if I did have the cd, it wouldn't matter. My cd drive doesn't read or write cds. Any thoughts on why that could be. Every couple of months it either works or doesn't.

lizardcake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.