Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2009, 09:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what?

To get right to it, my game will not run online on lowest settings. I can play, but I have ZERO fun. There are skips, framerate drops, studders, etc, etc.

Along with the 7600 GT, I have an Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GH with 2.0GB of RAM, running Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (Build Service Pack 32600). I have all my latest drivers installed, and I've played with the settings, on the video card and the in-game video settings. I've closed all background programs, scanned for viruses, defragged my hard drive, deleted all temporary files, etc, all that little stuff.

I don't know WHAT it could be, because here's the thing. If I run the game on highest settings in single player with 15 other NPCs, it runs PERFECTLY. No skips, nothing. I go into a Battlefield server with SEVEN other people on one of the smallest maps, and it skips and lags and studders on LOWEST settings. My internet is free, no other internet related programs opened up, and my ping is low.

Here's another thing. My system doesn't fully meet the minimum requirements for Guitar Hero III. I can run it fine. There is a smidge of lag, but it's playable easily. I seriously don't understand what's going on here. If I meet the recommened requirements for a game, AKA Battlefield 2, I SHOULD be able to run it, should I not?
__________________

ComputersRFun is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what?

That's not a graphics problem, that is almost certainly internet lag. Your connection sucks. If you are downloading stuff while playing than don't, and if you aren't then I would call your isp to complain.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 10:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what?

I'm not downloading anything while I play, and I'm pretty sure my connection is fine, but I COULD be missing something. Would I have to get a new type of internet? I currently have DSL I believe.

Oh, and I forgot to mention, my friend runs Battlefield 2 on a 6600 GT and it works very well on medium settings.

Or POSSIBLY, would I have to take my computer up to a store and get them to completely wipe it clean? Could there be something in here screwing my game up?
ComputersRFun is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what?

If it is running fine on local games and running slow on net games then they only thing that could be causing it is net latency. Look at your ping in game. its is probably much worse than everyone else s.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what?

Have you tried different servers? If a server is around the world from you, your ping would be high, and you'd have lag spikes. See if you can find a server that's close to you and test that one out.
__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what?

My internet is apparently 5x faster now, and while pages load faster now, the problem is still there, and my ping online is usually around 40-50.

I'm seriously going to break something, this is frustrating me to no end.
ComputersRFun is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what?

What patch do you have on BF2?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 07:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default Re: Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what?

Have you tried playing single player? Does it do the same thing?

If not, it's definitely a network problem. If so, could be something more sinister...
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 08:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what?

I can play the game offline with no lag on low and medium settings in single player. I can also play with some settings on high with no lag.

I also have the latest patch for BF2.
ComputersRFun is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 12:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Battlefield 2, NVIDIA 7600 GT, what?

It haas to be an internet issue. Call the ISP and raise ****. It sounds to me like you aren't getting your advertised speeds. Any decent, modern dsl or cable line should be able to handle BF2 with no lag.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 05:26 PM
nVidia Albatron 7600 GS overclocking? yoshi1476 Overclocking and Modding 0 06-13-2008 05:31 AM
Laptop Video Cards Whirlwind Laptops and Notebooks 5 12-17-2007 12:46 PM
7600 GT X 2 or 8 Series Nvidia x 1 Rollotomussie System Upgrades 22 09-30-2007 12:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.