Bad Sectors or... it's diying... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2005, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Unhappy Bad Sectors or... it's diying...

Hi,
My windows always says like "Delayed Write Failed" and then it's says that it may be cause by a computer hardware (like the hard drive...). And, as I wrote that message something weird happend, my friend IM me on MSN and then, the hard drive shut down and then it came again. It's not the first time that the shut down happened.

Is it possible that it's my power supply? I got a 350W with the following:

ASUS K8V-X
AMD Sempron 3000+ 64Bit
Infenion 512MB PC3200
Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro Atlantis
CMI 8738 (PCI Sound Card)
Plextor 24x CD-RW
Standard 40x IDE CD-ROM
Maxtor 30GB IDE (Hard Drive! "The Problem")
And one stock CPU cooling...

So, anyone got an idea on this? I know that some of you got some ideas on this
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 10:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah 350W is fairly limiting for that hardware

also, a hard drive just shutting down is not normal. it's more than likely going to die soon.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 10:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Niiooooo... don't want my hard drive to did! :P
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 10:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd suggest you go out and get a new one before this one dies, so you can transfer some stuff over

I've just sort of gotten used to computer hardware dying. a few months ago, I got 3 dead motherboards within 2 weeks
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 10:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Omg... well, almost all my computer died right now. I had replaced the motherboard and CPU 3 weeks ago and the video card 2 weeks ago.

And now a hard drive... nice, already own 150$ for that video card... geeeeez...
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 10:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well, then maybe your PSU is damaging your parts
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 10:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Doubt it... cuz the mobo and CPU I know why it fried... I was putting some "custom made" fans. Lol like the wire was all there lying in the case, then it probly just hit 2 contacts.
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 10:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

hmmm okay.. although I've never heard of fan wires killing the motherboard. unless they were bare wires.

if the hard drive stops again or gives any more trouble, I'd just say go and get a new one.
I'd recommend either a Seagate or Western Digital. I prefer Seagates.
you'll be looking for an IDE one, not a SATA one
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 11:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Why not a SATA? And, yeah it was bare wires... lol
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 11:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

hmm.. just looked at what your motherboard is. it does support SATA.
I said IDE because your current drive is IDE
considering your board supports SATA, you may as well get a SATA drive then. it's a bit harder to set up than IDE, because you need drivers
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.