audio chip or audio drivers? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2008, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default audio chip or audio drivers?

This is a weird problem I have never experienced until now. I'm on one of the computers I built for a friend over a year ago, and while playing music through foobar, I heard a loud static um, noise, that was roughly 1/4 of a second in length. Then all the audio cut out completely, not just foobar, but windows sounds as well. Then every few seconds, I hear the same static noise, but still no other audio.

I am currently looking for the drivers for this mobo since I'm using onboard, it's a pcchips mobo, searching for the model number as I type...

Any suggestions if it's not the drivers?
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: audio chip or audio drivers?

Try different speakers. Try a sound card if you have a spare one, or pick up a cheap one and if its not the problem, just return in.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: audio chip or audio drivers?

Good ideas, they'll have to wait though, I have a spare video card and a spare set of speakers, but since my basement is flooded, I can't get to them, thanks for that suggestion! I'm still downloading the drivers, over two hours, Pcchips website is uploading at a horrific 4kbps, get with the times pcchips, get rid of your 28 baud modem!
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 01:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: audio chip or audio drivers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohGrFreak View Post
Good ideas, they'll have to wait though, I have a spare video card and a spare set of speakers, but since my basement is flooded, I can't get to them, thanks for that suggestion! I'm still downloading the drivers, over two hours, Pcchips website is uploading at a horrific 4kbps, get with the times pcchips, get rid of your 28 baud modem!
Well you may want to try a sound card, instead of a video card .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 01:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: audio chip or audio drivers?

LOL, I have tons of each, I am just frustrated at the basement situation and can't think straight, I have an old Creative Soundblaster Live that works I can grab when I get a chance.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant install Audio drivers - need help almightyobo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-14-2008 10:55 AM
compaq presario m2000 audio drivers!!! help me please! jguar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 02-09-2008 10:11 PM
audio drivers needed jalmn Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 05-20-2007 09:01 PM
For Audio Experts only! Stunner1127 Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 03-30-2007 06:34 PM
Audio Challenge Stunner1127 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-30-2007 12:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.