to anyone with a dell dimension - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2006, 11:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default to anyone with a dell dimension

right. i know what this thread could well turn into, so if you have nothing relavent to post, please dont.

has anyone with a dimension managed to get manual control over the cpu fan, or manage to get a reading on the cpu temp sensor? the fan speeds up of its own accord, when the system is under load for a while, so it is clearly possible.
also, in the 'dell diagnostics' thing that you can boot to, a test can change the speed, so there must be a way, but dell seem to have blocked it. on max, it pulls a LOT of air, so would be good while gaming to keep the whole system cool. (btx case)

anyone know how?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

No I haven't been able to nor do I know how.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 03:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Download speedfan?
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 03:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yea yea were not that stupid lol. Just I don't think DELL includes sensors on the motherboard to register a temp in speedfan.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

well, the fan speeds up of its own accord when under load for a while. i think there are sensors there somewhere.

i do want to control the fan though. shove it up max for gaming would bring the temps down, as it is a BTX case, the fan is also the intake. if the fan is adjustable, it must be able to be chamnged somehow.

edit: mailed dell about it. doubt they will tell me, but if i do find anything, i will tell you.
joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.