AMD Athlon 64 5200+ Compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2007, 06:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default AMD Athlon 64 5200+ Compatibility

Hello everyone. I'm new to these forums. I was wondering if the motherboard that I have is compatable to the AMD Athlon 64 5200+. The price difference between 5200+ and the 5000+ is only $10 so I figgured if I can get the 5000+ why not get the 5200+ if it works. I know that the 5000+ works on my computer since I've talked to HP techinicians that they have stated that it works with my motherboard. Specifications to the motherboard are Here

Can anyone tell me if the 5200+ works with my motherboard aswell? Thanks in advance for your reply.

The only difference between the 5200+ and the 5000+ is the L2 Cach speed were the 5200+ has a L2 cache of 2x1MB while the 5000 has a L2 cache of 2x512kb.

Since I'm a newbie at this sort of thing I'm not sure if there is an upper limit to L2 Cache speed for motherboard and its interface with the processor. Any help on the topic would be helpful. Thank you for your help.

Soumak is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

seeing as the 5000+ and 5200+ are AM2 it will work, that's about as much as you'll need for compatibility.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 12:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

Thanks. Yeah it will work. I've checked it out throughly. Basically the Techinicians were telling me that it will only work with the 5000+ because in the US they have not tested the 5200+ on this motherboard. However, in scandanavia they have tested it on almost the exact same motherboard and the 5200+ runs on there so it should work on here. thanks
Soumak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.