AC Plugin inside is Broken - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2006, 04:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default AC Plugin inside is Broken

Aight, so the little piece on the motherboard that the plugin goes into to power up the computer has broken off... It gets so hot some of the metal is burnt as well. I dont understand that... Can i glue it back onto the motherboard or how would I go about reattatching it?
__________________

Vivid48 is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I'm not sure what you're talking about. Do you mean the 20-pin ATX connector? If you broke that off, you'll either need some badass soldering skills, or a new motherboard. Sorry.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I think he means the bank of pins for power switch and reset switch and all that rot. It sounds like its time for a new mobo. Unless like CrazeD sayd you are good at soldering..Unlike me.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 07:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sPlAtOiD
I think he means the bank of pins for power switch and reset switch and all that rot. It sounds like its time for a new mobo. Unless like CrazeD sayd you are good at soldering..Unlike me.
Well that can't really "fall off" lol. I can see the ATX plug "falling off", but I don't see how those little pins could fall off...

Unless he means the actual plug fell off, inwhich case you can just stick it back on.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 12:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

No they cant fall off but they can be either bent off or pulled out by someone rough on things.The reasion I say this is i've done it in my hyper days.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.