1 printer 2 pcs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2015, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default 1 printer 2 pcs

Is there away to set up and use a wired printer on 2 pc when i want to? If so, how plz?

thx
__________________

chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: 1 printer 2 pcs

Through USB? No.

You'll have to either share the printer through PC 1 and print over the network on PC 2, or get a small Print Server to hook the printer up to, which then connects to your router, and then you can print over the network from either PC 1 or PC 2.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 05:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: 1 printer 2 pcs

How do I try option one plz?

thx, C.
chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 05:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: 1 printer 2 pcs

What modem/route do you have?

Mine has USB ports to allow for the router to be a print server.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: 1 printer 2 pcs

Share a printer - Windows Help
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: 1 printer 2 pcs

Can someone plz tell me if a hp deskjet 1510 series can be used as a network printer plz I believe i have all things set up correctly but i cant seem to get it to print from the pc the printer isnt physically connected to.

thx
chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 12:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: 1 printer 2 pcs

No it does not have networking built in. You'll need to set it up as a shared printer as the link instructed, check if your router has the capability to plug a USB printer into it, or buy a print server module. One of those will make it into a printer available over the network.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 07:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: 1 printer 2 pcs

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
No it does not have networking built in. You'll need to set it up as a shared printer as the link instructed, check if your router has the capability to plug a USB printer into it, or buy a print server module. One of those will make it into a printer available over the network. It states the printer is offline.
C, It is working correctly. Link was great.

thx as always.
chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 11:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: 1 printer 2 pcs

I have a verizon Fios router g1100 which has 2 usb ports on the back of it. When I try to use them they do not work. I asked verizon why the don't and they said they could only be used to charge a phone, tablet...etc. Is there a way I can turn it and use it as a print server?
chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 12:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: 1 printer 2 pcs

Quote:
Originally Posted by chara33 View Post
I have a verizon Fios router g1100 which has 2 usb ports on the back of it. When I try to use them they do not work. I asked verizon why the don't and they said they could only be used to charge a phone, tablet...etc. Is there a way I can turn it on yo turn it on and use it as a print server?
Only if the firmware supports it. Looking at the manual, it has this to say:

Quote:
USB - provides up to 500 mA at 5 VDC for attached devices.
For example, you could charge a cell phone. In the future, with a
firmware upgrade, the USB host functionality may be available for
other devices, such as external storage and cameras. Firmware
updates are performed automatically by Verizon.
So until they support it, you can't.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extreme Difficulty setting up wireless printer+ 2 PCS.... Ohh gaaahd juh-may-uh-kun mon Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-20-2012 02:11 AM
Printer and printer cable Instrumediatech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-12-2007 08:27 AM
Going from 25-pin printer switch to USB type B Printer? Blizzard596 System Upgrades 1 04-18-2007 08:53 PM
Using my printer as a network printer without a print server? glennl Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-09-2005 10:40 AM
failure to recognize printer port during setup of hp deskjet 697C printer Lizzybeth Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 23 12-09-2004 09:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.