Your opinion - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2006, 01:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

Quote:
I know right now the top of the line Intels blow AMD out of the water; but not everyone can afford a C2D. The AMD single core I run now is cooler and faster than the same model Pentium, and I have NEVER had it act up, even while OC'ed. Plus I don't usually edit video while I'm playing CS:S.
Actually, even the most basic C2D (e6300) owns most of the AMD chips at stock speeds, and when OC'd it frys them all
__________________

__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Default

i consider any Core2Duo "top of the line", i was referring to all C2D beating AMD, not simply the X6X00.
__________________

Reaver is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LU4sTrooper
Actually, even the most basic C2D (e6300) owns most of the AMD chips at stock speeds, and when OC'd it frys them all
He said faster then Pentium, not the C2D. Which is true. AMD athlon 64's blow away Intel Pentium 4's.

However it should be pointed out that Pentium 4's were released long before Athlon 64's. So its no wonder that AMD was better there.

It should also be pointed out that AMD athlon 64's were released (And the X2') before the C2D. So its no wonder Intel is better there.

They will never release a new Model on the same dates.

We will always be comparing a New technology to Old technology.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Crysalis, I will ship you my Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 for free.

You have my personal guarantee that you will not be disappointed with a Core 2 Duo, plus this way you wouldn't have to buy a motherboard.

PM me your address and I will ship it on Monday, free of charge.

If you don't want it, I will put it on eBay. Either way is fine with me, not like I'm pressed for cash or anything.
The General is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

its not having to buy a mobo thats a problem cause i have to get one anyway.. its RAM, Intel and money. What I have listed above plus a power supply is pushing my budget to the limit. Actually, its over-budget due to shipping.
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

lol, what a fanboi.

Actually, why would you need a new motherboard, your current motherboard is s939, the CPU you want is s939.
The General is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Maybe hes too lazy to flash the BIOS (If Requirered)
:P
Should check anyways
Ste is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:53 PM   #18 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
lol, what a fanboi.

Actually, why would you need a new motherboard, your current motherboard is s939, the CPU you want is s939.
PCI-express.

I sometimes wonder if people read posts all the way through.
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 06:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
lol, what a fanboi.
Lol, ironic isn't it? a fanboy making fun of fanboys.
Reaver is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 06:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

Yeah, it looks good. I say its a good upgrade.
__________________

__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.