wtf is wrong? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2006, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 37
Default wtf is wrong?

I recently bought a video card for my computer and it was a great difference from my old one. But it wasnt the difference i really expected from it since reviews say it runs games like battlefield 2 at full settings with a little more than acceptable game play. I bought battlefield 2 and turned it to full settings ( resolution 1280x1024 )
and it played at frames of 15!!! unless the reviewer was wacko, i need to know if there is sumthing holding bak my computers performance with the card, or if its the way it should be, since the reviewer could have more advanced parts into his/her computer than mine does.
Here are my suggestions for improving the computer overall:

the video card might be missing a driver that i havent noticed

add a gig of ram to the motherboard

get a new mother board allowing me for a btter processor

just get a new video card


Any other suggestions or ways to troubleshoot/improve the video card or the computer overall?
__________________

Twinfun2 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

well we need to know the rest of the computer specs (mostly how much ram, what vidio card, what motherboard, and CPU)

*try updating the drivers to the 91.47(?) or w/e the latest is
*hard drive shouldn't have too much to do with it as long as you have a gig of ram or more
*check to see if the other guy overclocked his
*check the temps of the card
*The guy may have said "max settings" w/ no AA or anything like that
*an old 5400rpm hard drive COULD slow it down if you dont have at least a gig of RAM

just guesses above, really need to know the computer's specs before saying anything else

*maybe the guy was lying
__________________

__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 05:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya you tells us of all these problems with a gfx card, yet you dont even tell us what it is.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 06:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Can't tell you anything unless we know more information about the system/drivers you already have.........................
cedjunior is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 06:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 37
Default

lmao fuk im sry i was in a rush and forgot to put it in.... well ya go...


celeron (R) 2.66 ghz
1024 mb of ram
visiontek ati radeon x1300 256mb ( the video card )
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
80 gb hard drive with 25% free space
Twinfun2 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 06:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

lol yea, first of all the video card u got is considered a low end card and isn't meant to run bf2 at high with a high res like 1280*1024. Also, u need over a gig to run bf2 smoothly, especially on high settings. And lastly, your cpu is not the best. i bet the reviewer was reviewing the card using a higher end cpu with more ram and a lower resolution. But for the money that card is not bad.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 07:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
i bet the reviewer was reviewing the card using a higher end cpu with more ram and a lower resolution.
Or it was an old review.

Sorry to tell you this, but my daughter's Toshiba laptop has a better graphics card than that.

A 2.66 Celeron ain't a Corvette by any means, but it is in sync with the speed of the card.

Try dropping your BF2 resolution to the lowest setting to get the best frame rates.

Also, make sure your PSU (power supply) has enough juice to power the card.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

« Gforce 7000's | Psu »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.