Would this play wow and minecraft? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2013, 01:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: npwden
Posts: 3
Default Would this play wow and minecraft?

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD 64 2.41GHz processor
1.75GB ram
512MB NVIDIA GeForce 7600 video card (VGA/DVI)
160GB HDD
Sony 16x Dual Layer DVD burner
4 front usb ports, 4 rear usb ports
I need to know if this would play wow and minecraf as is, im planning on upgrading soon.
__________________

averyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Would this play wow and minecraft?

I would say yeah in low settings probably
__________________

y2adre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
IntelFanboy417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 151
Default Re: Would this play wow and minecraft?

Specs are alright... could probably run on low settings like he said ^^^
BUT ram is a bit low even for minecraft. I would suggest at least 3gb of ram or more to run it fluently. Also I would go with an intel processor, but judging by my username you can tell why I would say that
IntelFanboy417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Would this play wow and minecraft?

lol,now why on earth would u say that, (sarcasm), lol. I do agree though, 3 gigs would be nice
y2adre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Would this play wow and minecraft?

Actually, I'm going to say maybe no. I recently ran into the latest updated WoW and must say the minimum has been upped. Considering I'm assuming that is a single core CPU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Would this play wow and minecraft?

I believe it's hyperthreaded though. Makes a diff right?
y2adre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Would this play wow and minecraft?

No, in those days HT was purely Intel P4. This is most likely a socket 939 A64 meaning no fancy turbo boost or any crap like that, and a single core. The 4000+ San Diego was 2.4GHz.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
IntelFanboy417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 151
Default Re: Would this play wow and minecraft?

Ok I have to agree with this guy ^^^
Trust me I tried running MC on a single core AMD with only
1gb of ram.... yea it wasnt pretty.
IntelFanboy417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Would this play wow and minecraft?

I'm just basing this on an experiment I did not too long ago with an X2 3800+ that I had OCd to 2.8GHz. It had 3GB of RAM and a GTX 260. It didn't handle things very well gaming wise. Barely handled Skyrim on all lowest settings 720p (vanilla). Something clocked less with one less core and a much weaker GPU I'm having my doubts. The same setup with a 7950GT was a lag fest.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: npwden
Posts: 3
Default Re: Would this play wow and minecraft?

Alright i have about a 100$ budget for upgrades. Any suggestions on cpu/gpu and ram
__________________

averyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.