What is a system builder os - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2009, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ---------------------------------
Posts: 44
Default What is a system builder os

Wat is the diffrents between windows vista business system build or the regular vista business i now there is a diffrents in price but what is it
__________________

xzxremixxzx is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default Re: What is a system builder os

"System Builder" versions are basically just the disk on a shrinkwrapped piece of cardboard. The price is much lower, and this is what you should be purchasing.
__________________

Inferno is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: What is a system builder os

Differences between OEM and Retail
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 11:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: What is a system builder os

OEM you get one license and it is good for only one install, retail is one license good for 3 installs.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 12:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: What is a system builder os

So what happens if you reformat? Does that mean you can only reformat 3 times?
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 12:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default Re: What is a system builder os

Just read the thread peter linked to
Inferno is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 01:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: What is a system builder os

You can format as many times as you like. But if you change out your motherboard/cpu it likely wont let you activate it. I'm currently running vista unactivated because its being annoying and is all po'd that i changed motherboard/cpu. Oh well, i paid for the license and i'm going to keep using it. At least you dont HAVE to activate it anymore.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 01:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default Re: What is a system builder os

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
You can format as many times as you like. But if you change out your motherboard/cpu it likely wont let you activate it. I'm currently running vista unactivated because its being annoying and is all po'd that i changed motherboard/cpu. Oh well, i paid for the license and i'm going to keep using it. At least you dont HAVE to activate it anymore.
What does activating it do for you, and can't you call microsoft to resolve that (even though a pain)?
Inferno is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 01:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gallman, MS, USA
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexluethar View Post
OEM you get one license and it is good for only one install, retail is one license good for 3 installs.
I dunno:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
The software can be reinstalled on the same machine a infinite number of times without using more than 1 activation.
I've re-formatted and re-installed about 10 times over 3 years.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inferno View Post
What does activating it do for you, and can't you call microsoft to resolve that (even though a pain)?
Click here.
Datalyss is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 02:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: What is a system builder os

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
You can format as many times as you like. But if you change out your motherboard/cpu it likely wont let you activate it. I'm currently running vista unactivated because its being annoying and is all po'd that i changed motherboard/cpu. Oh well, i paid for the license and i'm going to keep using it. At least you dont HAVE to activate it anymore.
I haven't reformatted Vista yet, and when I switch out hardware I just call M$. Does it not give you a 30 day countdown anymore?
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to troubleshoot specific STOP Errors KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 15 05-20-2009 03:22 PM
Get to Know Linux: File System Hierarchy Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 7 12-15-2008 05:26 PM
Newbie builder. Starting over with new HDD Callofbooty New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-13-2008 05:42 PM
Osiris' 4 Step Spyware Removal Guide (old) Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 89 12-26-2007 06:37 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.